Skip to content

FAQ: The Need for Gluten-Free Rice Krispies

July 27, 2011

Q: Why did Kellogg’s make Gluten Free Rice Krispies? Aren’t Rice Krispies already gluten free because it’s made from rice?

Yes, rice is naturally gluten free. However, a sweetener used in regular Rice Krispies (malt flavoring, which is often made from barley) is not, and Joseph will react to it.  So they did need to change the recipe for those sensitive to gluten.  Incidentally, this sweetener is what General Mills changed in their Chex cereals to make them gluten free too.

And because this is a short post, here is the recipe I followed for Rice Krispie Treats, which Joseph really enjoyed. The brown rice made no difference in taste, and less difference in color than I had expected. Even people who have no eating restrictions said that these taste just like regular rice krispie treats.

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy Free Rice Krispie Treats

Recipe adapted from the original treats

In microwave-safe bowl, heat buttery spread and marshmallows on HIGH for 3 minutes, stirring after 2 minutes. Stir until smooth. (Note, microwave times may vary)

Add Rice Krispies cereal. Stir until well coated.

Using wax paper (note, a smaller piece of paper has less chance of sticking than a big one), evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan greased with soy free buttery spread. Cool. Cut into 2-inch squares. Best if served the same day.

About these ads
10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 7:35 pm

    We are rice free and have tried making “rice” krispie treats another way by using puffed millet. They are a bit chewy and don’t have that crunch but my oldest still thought they were great! http://livingtheallergylife.wordpress.com/2011/06/26/millet-treats/
    We’re not gluten free but we are wheat free. I had a panic moment and had to go research malt. I was wondering why exactly what your topic talks about. I thought they were just trying to market their product in a new way. Thanks for the helpful insight!

  2. July 28, 2011 7:08 am

    Oy! No wheat and no rice has to be as bad as the combo of no dairy and no soy. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Jaime permalink
    September 7, 2012 5:56 pm

    Thank you for explaining the new gluten free cereal to me. I did not understand why the regular kind was not gluten free until now. My son has over 20 allergies. Milk, soy, most meats, all types of nuts to just name a few. He does not have issues with gluten but does have a barley and wheat allergy!

  4. joe permalink
    October 13, 2012 1:59 pm

    Noo wayy where can I get these gluten free goodies!!!?

    • Annaliese permalink*
      October 13, 2012 4:42 pm

      It depends on where you live. I’ve seen them in certain grocery stores around here in Washington state, but also online at amazon.com

  5. Melisa permalink
    December 1, 2012 10:21 pm

    Thank you so much for the info on why they were not gluten free originally! I have always wondered, I also still don’t understand how things can be whole grain but also gluten free at the same time?

Trackbacks

  1. Sharing With Food Allergies « The Rice of Life
  2. Your Favorite Posts – 2012 « The Rice of Life
  3. Sunbutter Rice Krispie Treats Trial: Nut-free, Gluten-free, Dairy-free | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

%d bloggers like this: