Skip to content

Willing Cook-A-Long: Italian Chicken Soup

September 23, 2011
2011_09Sep Creamy Italian Soup 014


The next Willing Cook-A-Long features Italian Chicken Soup by The Pioneer Woman. Since last week went pretty well, I decided to jump in again.

The Changes

First, I had to make it friendly for Joseph. I subbed brown rice elbow macaroni noodles for the ditalini and coconut creamer for the heavy cream.

Next I tossed out the peppers, because I don’t like them. But I still wanted the soup to have some spice, so I used sriracha sauce, which I thought would complement any hint of coconut that the creamer would leave.

Then I tackled the trickiest part – the method. I’m sure if you cook this soup the way Pioneer Woman does, you will get a superior flavor. But I HATE doing dishes. Laundry I can keep on top of just fine, but I will procrastinate doing dishes until we run out of butter knives. So I simplified things so I only had to use one pot, and here’s how I did it.

The Method

In a large pot, saute onion, celery, and oregano in oil. I’ve never sauteed herbs like this before. I’m not sure how much it enhanced the flavor, but I enjoyed the aroma in my kitchen.

Add the chicken broth, tomatoes, chicken, sriracha sauce, salt, and pasta. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 20 minutes.

Add the creamer, then bring back to a boil for a couple minutes before serving.

Joseph had his with glutino crackers. The rest of us had homemade Italian bread. Pioneer Woman added parmesan to the bowls, and I agree that it would be good to add for the dairy eaters. But I didn’t have any fresh parmesan, so I didn’t feel like putting any cheese on the table.

Italian Chicken Soup

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman

gluten free, dairy free, and soy free

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small onion
  • 3 stalks celery
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 14.5 oz can petite diced tomatoes, drained
  • 2 cups cooked chicken
  • 1/2 teaspoon sriracha sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 oz (~1.5 cups) brown rice elbow macaroni
  • 1 cup So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer

In a large pot, saute onion, celery, and oregano in olive oil until onion becomes clear and tender.

Add chicken broth, tomatoes, chicken, sriracha sauce, salt, and macaroni to the pot. Bring to a boil. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes, or until pasta is cooked and celery is tender.

Add creamer. Bring back to a boil, and simmer for a couple minutes to heat through.

Serves about four main dish servings.

What I Thought

I really liked this soup. The sriracha sauce gave more of a tang than any real heat (which is good, because I’m a wimp when it comes to spiciness). It was less brothy than I expected, because the noodles absorbed the broth as they cooked. I don’t know if or how I’d adjust for that in the future. I also couldn’t detect the coconut flavor. Most importantly, Joseph ate all his (except the celery) and screamed for more. My husband would have liked there to be less celery more finely chopped, and for the tomatoes to be pureed. As usual, my daughter only ate bread.

So I’d say this is a definite keeper!

Shared at Gluten-free Wednesdays and Slightly Indulgent Tuesday

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 7:36 am

    I’m so glad this worked out for you. I only used one pan too! I agree with your husband that the celery was too much. I like the idea of the sriracha sauce and coconut creamer. I’ll have to remember that in the future.

    Thanks for cooking-a-long this week. Hope to see you back again next week!

    Michelle

  2. Amy permalink
    September 23, 2011 1:51 pm

    That sounds delicious! I love using So Delicious coconut milk creamer for making creamy soups. I can’t wait to try this.

Trackbacks

  1. A Year of Favorites « The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

