Skip to content

He is Not His Allergy

September 28, 2011

At times, my husband tells me that I dwell too much on Joseph’s allergies. My response is usually that it’s hard not to. I have to plan his meals, buy his food, provide his snacks when we’re out and about, warn those we come in contact with that he can’t share food, and I write this blog. His allergies are always on my mind.

I was talking about his allergies with a friend, lamenting how hard it is, and she responded “At least he’s able to do everything else.” I would have responded with something along the lines of “yes, but food’s everywhere” except for one thing. This friend lost her 6-year-old daughter to cancer. She watched her daughter become unable to play, unable to go to school, and unable to even talk and walk before she passed away. So for her to point out that my child can still do all those things made me remember that I have much to be grateful for.

Joseph loves to run and throw balls. He is rapidly learning new words, though most of it is still baby gibberish. He has food allergies, but he is not his allergies. There is so much more to him, and I need to remember to take time to appreciate all aspects of his personality, even while keeping him safe.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 2:28 pm

    It is hard to not dwell on the foods when it consumes you. Your friend is right though – keep going and enjoy everything else he IS doing. I know exactly where you’re coming from. That’s sort of why I changed my blog from dwelling on the food to how we Live. Trying to get a better outlook on things. Best wishes to you!

    • September 28, 2011 2:43 pm

      Thanks. That is a good outlook to have. Since I talk so much on this blog about allergies, I’ve been wanting to focus about Joseph’s other developments on my personal blog.

Trackbacks

  1. Special Lessons « The Rice of Life
  2. A Year of Favorites « The Rice of Life
  3. Basics of Dealing with Food Allergies « The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

