Skip to content

Willing Cook-A-Long: Autumn Chopped Salad

September 30, 2011
tags:
Autumn Chopped Salad


This week’s Willing Cook-A-Long features Autumn Chopped Salad by Espresso and Cream.

The Changes

I actually didn’t change this salad very much. My main change was to eliminate the nuts and cheese. We’re actually not quite sure if Joseph can eat nuts, but I decided to be on the safe side, to just get rid of them. I considered keeping cheese and pecans on the side for those in our family that can eat them, but I thought that was a bit overkill for a side salad. Also, there’s still protein in there from the bacon.

My main change was the dressing. While poppy seed would taste really good on this salad, I didn’t want to buy two new dressings when we rarely eat salad. So, I looked through my cookbooks until I found a homemade vinaigrette that paired with Pear Harvest Salad from 2010 Taste of Home Annual Recipes so that’s what I used.

The Method

I actually took a bunch of pictures as I added each ingredient to the salad. But really, it’s not very complicated.

Combine the salad ingredients in a bowl. Actually, after I tossed it, I thought it might have been better to leave it untossed, as the lettuce floated to the top, and all the good stuff sunk to the bottom.

Whisk dressing ingredients together.

Pour over served salad.

I served it with fish and potatoes.

Autumn Chopped Salad

Adapted from Espresso and Cream and 2010 Taste of Home Annual Recipes

Dairy free, gluten free, soy free, and nut free

Salad

  • 1 heart of romaine, chopped
  • 1 medium pear, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 4 slices bacon, crumbled

Dressing

  • 3 Tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon yellow mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

In a large bowl, combine salad ingredients. In a small bowl, whisk together dressing ingredients. Serve salad onto plates, and drizzle with dressing.

Serves 4 sides.

What I Thought

The salad itself was very nice. I was surprised when my husband took seconds. But then again, he likes bacon. Also, he does prefer to eat fruit at dinner than vegetables. The dressing was all right, but I’m not that fond of vinaigrettes. This one was a bit too sour, with maybe too much tang from the mustard. As expected, both of my kids barely touched it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 7:01 am

    I’m glad it was semi-successful. I love all your set-by-step and pictures. I may start posting the recipe as well with the changes I have made included in it. Then, it becomes a whole new recipe.

    Thanks again for joining up on The Willing Cook-A-Long. See you in a couple of weeks!

    • October 1, 2011 3:35 pm

      Thanks for your comment. I was inspired by the other food blogs, and how they do step-by-step pictures. It also makes me feel more like I’m making the recipe my own, rather than stealing from other people. See you in a couple of weeks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

