Skip to content

Sweet Cornbread: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

November 9, 2011
Sweet Cornbread Muffins

Unlike my First Try Friday posts, this recipe was tested and tweaked until I got something I enjoy.

I grew up on Marie Callender’s cornbread, which is so sweet and moist, it’s more like corn-cake than cornbread. And there wasn’t any stuff like corn kernels or peppers in it. Just the cornbread. My mom would bake it in a 9 x 9 pan, and cut it into 9 pieces. Then my dad and I would fight over who got the center piece, since it was the tallest piece of golden goodness.

So when I learned Joseph couldn’t eat gluten, I started hunting for a similar cornbread that he could eat. I was disappointed they were either dense, or had lots of stuff in them, or were savory. Silvana Nardone’s cornbread in Cooking for Isaiah was at least close on texture, so I made a few tweaks to make into a sweet corn-cake that I enjoy eating as much as Joseph.

King Arthur GF flour, sugar, canola oil, rice milk, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, baking soda, xanthan gum, eggs

Stir together cornmeal, flour, gum, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until combined.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs, then add milk and oil. Mix until combined.

Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Stir until completely mixed. The batter will be rather thin.

Spoon into whichever pan you’ve prepared. For this post, I made muffins. I only had 12 liners, or I may have made 18 muffins instead of filling the 12 so full. I’ve also made this in a greased¬†8 x 8 pan, which made a wonderfully tall cornbread.

Bake at 350 degrees until golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. For the 12 muffins, it took 20 minutes. For the 8 x 8 pan, it took 50 minutes, though I would start checking at 30 minutes. My oven seems to take longer to preheat than it says. Also, though I doubt this would affect things, I forgot to put xanthan gum in the batch I made in the 8 x 8 pan. It actually still turned out fine without the gum, just more crumbly than normal.

Serve warm with honey and whatever butter spread you can tolerate.

Sweet Cornbread Muffins

Sweet Cornbread

Adapted from Cooking for Isaiah

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup King Arthur Gluten-Free Flour*
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespooon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup rice milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare whichever pan you are using (muffin liners for muffins, or greasing the pan). In a large bowl, stir together cornmeal, flour, xanthan gum, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, and oil. Pour wet ingredients into dry and stir until combined. Spoon batter into prepared pan.

Bake until golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. (12 muffins – 20 minutes. 8 x 8 pan – 30-50 minutes).

Serve warm.

*To make your own flour mix, follow these instructions from King Arthur: Whisk together 6 cups (32 ounces) King Arthur stabilized brown rice flour; 2 cups (10 3/4 ounces) potato starch; and 1 cup (4 ounces) tapioca flour or tapioca starch. Store airtight at room temperature.

Shared at Allergy Friendly Friday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday and Gluten-Free Wednesday

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Shay permalink
    November 12, 2011 9:48 am

    Looks great! THanks! Visit me at http://raisingdieter.blogspot.com/ for allergy friendly recipes and a giveaway!

  2. November 16, 2011 7:46 am

    These sound so good. I will be trying them soon. Thanks for the recipe!

    I would love it if you linked this recipe up to my Making a Home linky. :)

  3. cfd14 permalink
    November 22, 2012 2:50 pm

    This is great. Cheated and used self- raising flour rather than baking soda and powder but has come out lovely. Thank you !

  4. tavernlassie permalink
    January 13, 2013 7:18 pm

    This was excellent. I subbed almond milk for the rice milk because it was all I had in the larder, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, letting the batter rest for a few minutes after mixing but before pouring into the pan. Holy cow, it was delicious! It’s been a half a dozen years since I ate the Marie Callender’s cornbread, but this tasted just like how I remember it. Thank you!

  5. Jennifer permalink
    January 13, 2013 8:07 pm

    Thanks for this recipe. We are soy free, wheat free for my daughter and this was excellent. I used regular milk because we don’t have dairy issues and it worked fine. Thanks so much!

  6. celeste frank permalink
    January 19, 2014 2:45 pm

    Came out great! I didn’t have the xantham gum and they came out fine (just in case anyone doesn’t have it!). I added 2 tsp whole flax to add some crunch!
    Thanks!

    • January 19, 2014 4:20 pm

      You’re welcome. I’ve also forgotten to put in xantham gum, and they were just a bit crumbly. Glad it worked for you!

Trackbacks

  1. This Week’s Favorites – The Thanksgiving Edition
  2. Allergy Friendly Friday 11/18/11 | Cybele Pascal Allergen-Free Cuisine
  3. A Year of Favorites « The Rice of Life
  4. Your Favorite Posts – 2012 « The Rice of Life
  5. Tamale Pie Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  6. Bean and Pork Chop Bake Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  7. Your Favorite Recipes for 2013 | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

