Skip to content

Pumpkin-Coconut Shake Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

December 16, 2011
pumpkin coconut shake004

So, I have a confession: I’m not actually that fond of pumpkin. You may find that surprising, since this is my third pumpkin recipe in the four months I’ve been posting recipes. But as it turns out, I had a bunch of crumbs from Joseph-safe sugar cookies that disintegrated when I tried to remove them from the pan (I’m creating a recipe to go with my Christmas story). As I was looking for a recipe that could use them, I stumbled across Our Best Bites’ Pumpkin Pie Milkshake. Remembering the bit of pumpkin I had leftover from making pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, I decided I needed to make the shake Joseph-safe.

The Changes

To make this milkshake dairy-free, I substituted coconut milk for the regular milk and vanilla coconut “non-dairy frozen dessert” for the ice-cream. I also substituted allspice since I didn’t have ground cloves. I may have used more pumpkin than called for, since I didn’t measure it. I just wanted to use it all up.

The Method

My blender is the cheap one I got for my wedding six years ago, so this is what I did to get it smooth. First, blend the pumpkin, spices, vanilla, sugar, and milk together until smooth. Then I added half the ice cream.

I blended for about 30 seconds, then stirred it up, then blended and stirred some more until there were no chunks of ice-cream. Then I repeated with the rest of the ice-cream.

Pour it into individual cups and top with sugar cookie crumbs.

Pumpkin-Coconut Shake

Adapted from Our Best Bites

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch nutmet
  • pinch all spice (I ground 1 whole ball with a mortar and pestle)
  • 2 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 cups vanilla coconut ice-cream
  • sugar cookie crumbs (optional. Can also use graham crackers or other cookies that fit into your diet restrictions)

Blend all ingredients except ice-cream and crumbs until smooth. Add ice-cream and blend (stirring as needed) until smooth. Pour into individual cups and sprinkle with crumbs.

Serves 2


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

I found the coconut to be the strongest flavor, and it wasn’t my favorite. On the other hand, my husband thought the pumpkin was the strongest flavor. He doesn’t care as much for pumpkin, so he had only a couple spoonfuls. My daughter and Joseph both eagerly ate theirs. They love ice-cream. So while I wouldn’t buy ingredients just for this milkshake again, if I had leftover pumpkin from a recipe, I wouldn’t mind using it up in this recipe.

Shared at Gluten-Free Wednesdays, Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, and Allergy Friendly Friday

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    March 20, 2013 4:30 pm

    It was interesting. I did not have all the ingredients on hand, so I subbed almond milk, added coconut flakes and added just ice cubes instead of ice cream. I also left out the all spice. I also added a few tablespoons of vanilla protein powder since i had this after my gym workout. I thought it was an interesting and different flavor… I would make it again and try it with the coconut ice cream. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

