Skip to content

Soy-free Pan Greasing

January 11, 2012

When I first started cooking soy-free, I was dismayed to learn that almost all cooking sprays contain soy. I wondered how I was going to bake without it. First, I attempted to just pour oil in the pan and spread it around. The oil just pooled together, leaving big bare spots for the dough to stick to. The dough then pushed that oil to the side as I poured it in, making it stick to the pan even more. Since then, I’ve found a few ways to make things work

  • Rub the pan with a soy-free buttery spread/shortening.  I smacked my head when I realized that this was how people used to grease pans before cooking spray was invented. It feels very “duh” worthy, but today’s cooking world is so dependent on cooking sprays, it can be forgotten. It doesn’t get pushed aside by the dough, and covers evenly. It can add a bit of fat to the dish though.
  • Parchment paper. I’ve only recently stocked my kitchen with parchment paper. I just never had any real need for it, since things seemed to turn out fine with cooking spray or wax paper. But with sticky gluten-free doughs, I’m finding it essential. It can be annoying to cut/fold these down to size to fit inside cake pans, but very few things will stick to it.
  • Oil Mister. I have not yet gotten one because I hadn’t found one on Amazon that I liked. But now that I look, it appears they have come down a bit in price since I last looked, so I am going to have to search again. These are basically cooking sprays that you fill yourself, so you can use any oil that you like – and know that it is soy-free.

Is there anything that I missed?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 5:37 am

    I found an mister, Misto it’s called, at Costco for $20 which included two misters you could use for oil and possibly another liquid.

    • January 11, 2012 8:26 am

      I believe it’s the same brand I’m seeing on Amazon for $10 for 1. That’s not bad. I just want the purple one that’s out of stock. :)

  2. January 13, 2012 9:17 am

    Bummer! I have a green and silver one but purple sounds pretty too ;).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

