Skip to content

Chocolate Banana Muffins Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

January 27, 2012
chocbananamuffins006

I keep seeing chocolate and bananas together in recipes recently. Definitely a divine pairing. A little bit of healthy to balance the sugar influx. I’ve had Chocolate Banana Muffins by Linda’s Lunacy pinned on pinterest for 9 weeks now, so I’m glad that I finally got around to making them.

The Changes

Linda already made these muffins Joseph-safe, so I didn’t need to make any changes for him. However, I only had two ripe bananas, so that’s what I used. Linda also didn’t specify which kind of gluten-free all purpose mix she used, or how much xanthan gum. So I used my regular pre-mixed blend, with half the amount of xanthan gum I normally do. I decided to follow some of the advice I’ve seen on other blogs that quick breads like muffins only need 1/2 teaspoon for every cup of flour.

canola oil, GF all purpose flour, brown sugar, vanilla, cocoa powder, baking soda, bananas, eggs, chocolate chips, xanthan gum (not pictured)

Yes, these bananas pictured aren't ripe. But the frozen bananas I used weren't very pretty.

 The Method

In a mixing bowl, beat bananas, eggs, and oil together until smooth.

Add in sugar and vanilla and stir to combine.

In a separate bowl, mix together flour, xanthan gum, cocoa powder, and baking soda. Slowly add it to the banana mixture with the mixer going. (Sorry there’s no pictures of these steps. I totally forgot while making these that I was blogging about them.) Fold in chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into 12 paper-lined muffin cups. Linda made this recipe into 16 muffins, but hers were quite flat. In my experience, gluten-free muffins don’t rise as much as those with gluten, so I only had slight misgivings as I filled these nearly to the top. Wipe up any drips on the pan with a moist paper towel.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes (mine took 23) or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Serve warm with your preferred milk.

Chocolate  Banana Muffins

Adapted from Linda’s Lunacy

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

Ingredients

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

In a large mixing bowl, beat bananas, eggs, and oil together until smooth. Add sugar and vanilla. Stir to combine.

In a separate bowl, blend together gluten-free multipurpose flour, xanthan gum, cocoa powder, and baking soda. Slowly add to banana mixture while stirring. Fold in chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into 12 paper-lined muffin tins. The tins will be nearly full. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins

*To make your own flour mix, follow these instructions from King Arthur: Whisk together 6 cups (32 ounces) King Arthur stabilized brown rice flour; 2 cups (10 3/4 ounces) potato starch; and 1 cup (4 ounces) tapioca flour or tapioca starch. Store airtight at room temperature.

What I Thought

These had a very pleasant taste. Though after one mouthful I had to pour myself a glass of milk. At first I thought it was because it was rich, but I found (especially the next day) that while the muffins don’t taste dry, they absorb the moisture in my mouth. On tasting his first one, my husband said he was jealous that Joseph would be eating most of these. My daughter ate 2/3 of her muffin before deciding she was done. When Joseph ate his first muffin, he screamed for more. He was upset when I didn’t give him more, so he settled for climbing up into his sister’s chair and eating the rest of her muffin. He had a tougher time eating an entire muffin the next morning though. So definitely a success, though I might look at tweaking the ratio (it surprises me that there’s so much oil and no water or milk) in order to add more moistness.

Shared on Made from Scratch Monday and Allergy-Free Wednesdays

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 1:59 pm

    These look good! I might try it with my gf self-raising flour that I bought too much of. :).

    • January 27, 2012 2:20 pm

      They did taste really good. They just felt dried out when they had sat overnight. So maybe it needed the three bananas, or it could use some milk as well. I’d love to hear how yours turn out!

  2. January 30, 2012 12:01 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing today on ‘Made From Scratch’. I can’t wait to give this recipe a try. My daughter isn’t always so crazy about chocolate, but I am! And well, you know, sometimes you just have to make something to satisfy your taste buds :)

  3. February 2, 2012 9:30 am

    Thank you for stopping by and sharing on Allergy Free Wednesdays! Check back next week for recipe highlights (including the top 3 reader choice submissions and hostess favorites).

    Best,
    –AFW Hostesses

  4. CraftyK3 permalink
    March 20, 2012 6:19 pm

    These were really good! I changed it up a bit and used dark chocolate powder and chips. Since I don’t have a gluten allergy I used the same amount of flour and subbed in my custom mix of 1-part wheat, 2 parts unbleached all purpose and 1 part spelt. When I make gf I like to use some almond flour to keep the baked goods more moist.

    • March 20, 2012 7:18 pm

      I’m glad you liked it! I don’t bake with almond flour since I suspect my son is allergic to nuts too. :( That’s a nice healthy wheat based mix though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

