Skip to content

Corn Soup Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

February 3, 2012
Corn Soup: gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free

Corn chowder is my very favorite soup. I’ve been meaning to make it Joseph-safe for a long time, so I finally sat down to do it. I’ve seen a couple of recipes online, but wanted to try this recipe from Cooking for Isaiah first, because I was intrigued by the idea of making a thick, creamy soup by mashing beans. It’s certainly cheaper than using coconut creamer.

The Changes

The recipe is already Joseph-safe, so I didn’t have to make any changes for allergy reasons. Since fresh corn isn’t available this time of year, I used frozen corn. I also subbed great northern beans for the cannelini beans, since that’s what I had in my pantry. I added bacon, because corn chowder needs to have bacon bits in it. I also reduced the salt and cayenne pepper in half. I wanted to keep the soup mild, since we’re wimps with spice, and 2 teaspoons of salt seems excessive, even before adding salty bacon to the picture.

chicken broth, corn, cayenne pepper, onion, olive oil, great northern beans, celery, potato, bacon, salt (not pictured)

The Method

Saute onion and celery in oil until tender.

Add a bit of chicken broth to the beans, then blend until creamy. Alternatively, you could mash them, but I thought using my immersion blender was a lot less work, and would give a creamier consistency.

Add potato, corn, bean mixture, and broth to the pot. I quickly realized this soup was going to be more brothy, rather than thick and creamy like a real chowder.

Bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes, until potato is tender. Add bacon, salt, and pepper. You can choose to top your servings with extra bacon, extra corn, chives, or cheese (for dairy-eaters).

Corn Soup

Adapted from Cooking for Isaiah

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

Ingredients

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 15-ounce can great northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 potato, cut into bite size pieces
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 5 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

Heat oil in a dutch oven or large pot. Add onion and celery. Saute until tender.

Add about half a cup of broth to beans, and mash or blend until creamy. Add bean mixture, the rest of the broth, potato, and corn to the onion and celery. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes, or until potato is tender.

Stir in salt, pepper, and crumbled bacon.

Makes 4 main-course servings.

What I Thought

The soup did taste nice, but the entire time I was eating, I was thinking about how it was not creamy or a chowder, like Nardone claimed in her recipe. My husband quite liked it. Joseph, however, only ate what he was force fed (and the kid usually likes bacon and corn). My daughter did her best to avoid eye contact with the soup. Too bad for my kids, I’ll eventually try this soup again, adding some coconut creamer and cornstarch to get it closer to a chowder. At least I’ll give them a bit of a break before trying again though.

Shared at Allergy Friendly Friday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Allergy-Free Wednesdays, and Gluten-free Wednesdays

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2012 5:25 pm

    I’ll have to try that one. I tried the Mojo Chikcen from Real Food Allergy Free. It was okay to me. Everyone else liked it though. I’ll make it into the soup recipe tomorrow that goes with and see if I like that better. I think I just overcooked the chicken.

    • February 5, 2012 7:13 pm

      That’s too bad about the chicken. Hopefully the soup goes better!

  2. February 10, 2012 2:10 pm

    This is the second corn chowder I’ve seen this week and I am so jealous that we can’t have corn. Looks great though. Thanks for linking this recipe up too at Allergy-Free Wednesdays!

    • February 10, 2012 2:40 pm

      Thanks, Michelle. That really is too bad that you can’t have corn. We rely on it lots.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

