Skip to content

Building a Year’s Supply of Allergy Friendly Food in $10/Week

February 8, 2012

My church strongly encourages all of its members to be prepared for whatever events may come. Part of this preparation includes storing food in your home so that if there is no food in the store due to something like a natural disaster, or if there is no money in the bank due to something like a lost job, we are still able to survive. This counsel comes in two parts. First – have a three month supply of foods that are part of our normal, daily diets. Second – have enough essentials that can last for an entire year. As a guide for these essentials, here is a list of suggested amounts of basic foods for one adult for one year.

  • 400 lbs grains (including wheat, flour, rice, corn, oatmeal, and pasta)
  • 60 lbs legumes (including dry beans, split peas, lentils, etc.)
  • 16 lbs powdered milk
  • 10 qts cooking oil (16 lbs shortening equals 10 qts oil)
  • 60 lbs sugar or 67 lbs honey or a combination of the two
  • 8 lbs salt

I believe food storage is even more important for people with food intolerances because when aid comes, the rescuers may not have any food that won’t cause a reaction. While I’ve been slowly adding cans to our pantry over time, we probably don’t have much more than a month’s worth of food in our house for our family. So when I came across a plan for buying a year’s worth of food for two adults for about $10 a week for 52 weeks, I thought it would be a great idea to follow. Except for the fact that Joseph couldn’t eat 75% of the food on the list.

So I went through the list and made my own plan to build my food storage for $10 a week. I don’t expect to get a full 2 adults worth of food for a year on this plan, because gluten-free pastas and dairy-free powdered milk is more expensive than their counterparts. However, if I budget $10 each week towards this plan, I’ll at least be farther ahead on my food storage than I am today, and that’s what’s important.

A couple of notes before I share my revised plan. Yes, I include a couple of things Joseph can’t eat. I do this because there are still three people in our family that can eat wheat. And if we can free up Joseph’s food by eating our own stuff in an emergency, then that is reasonable. Also, if I was really organized, I would pair the items on this plan with the weeks they would likely be on sale. But I’m not that organized. If you want to do so, go for it. Finally, some of these items have an amount to buy in a week, but most don’t. This is due to me not knowing a good amount to buy to keep it under budget. So, I plan to just buy $10 worth of that item that week, however much that is.

Plan to Build Allergy Friendly Food Storage in $10/Week

Week 1 – 6 lbs salt
Week 2 – chicken base (I found organic Better than Bouillon is Joseph-safe)
Week 3 – 20 lbs sugar
Week 4 – spaghetti sauce
Week 5 – tapioca starch
Week 6 – GF pasta
Week 7 – 6 lbs brown sugar
Week 8 – cans of clams
Week 9 – 1 lb each of yeast, baking powder, and baking soda
Week 10 – quinoa
Week 11 – tomato sauce
Week 12 – 20 lbs sugar
Week 13 & 14 – DF powdered milk (DariFree appears to be the best brand I’ve seen, but it costs $10 to ship it)
Week 15 – cereal
Week 16 – 25 lbs rice
Week 17 – chicken noodle soup *not Joseph-safe*
Week 18 – 1 bottle vitamins
Week 19 – canned coconut milk
Week 20 – applesauce
Week 21 – brown rice flour
Week 22 – canned tomatoes
Week 23 – black beans
Week 24 – tuna (some pouches are soy-free)
Week 25 – 3 lbs shortening, 3 lbs oil
Week 26 – 25 lbs rice
Week 27 – 5 lbs honey
Week 28 – 20 lbs sugar
Week 29 – sunbutter & peanut butter
Week 30 – popcorn (can be ground into cornmeal)
Week 31 – cereal
Week 32 – mayonnaise
Week 33 – 1 bottle acetaminophen
Week 34 – beef base (organic Better Than Bouillon is Joseph-safe)
Week 35 – 50 lbs wheat *not Joseph-safe*
Week 36 – cereal
Week 37 – 6 lbs salt
Week 38 – refried/pinto beans
Week 39 – spaghetti sauce
Week 40 – xanthan gum
Week 41 – flaxseed (I’ve actually never used this, but since it can replace eggs, I figured it would be good in storage)
Week 42 – 20 lbs sugar
Week 43 – 1 bottle vitamins
Week 44 – canned salmon
Week 45 – sorghum flour
Week 46 – GF pasta
Week 47 – 20 lbs sugar
Week 48 – pineapple
Week 49 – 5 lbs honey
Week 50 – certified GF oats
Week 51 – tomato sauce
Week 52 – potato starch

I’ll check in next year with how this plan worked for us. I’m currently on week 3, and it seems to work all right so far.

Shared on Allergy-Free Wednesday

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 7:43 am

    This is great information! Seriously amazing! I hope you will share it at allergy-free Wednesdays (http://www.realfoodallergyfree.com/category/allergy-free-wednesdays/)!

  2. February 10, 2012 2:00 pm

    This is great, Anneliese! You have really pulled it together. I have a lot of rice, but that is about it. I want to buy some dried beans in bulk, but I haven’t been able to find them (weird). Thanks for sharing this at Allergy-Free Wednesdays! Hope we’ll see you again next week.
    Have a good weekend!

    • February 10, 2012 2:40 pm

      Thanks, Michelle. I’m not sure where to buy dried beans in bulk. I was surprised that my store only had pinto beans in the larger bags. Shelfreliance.com sells beans in #10 cans, though they’re not the cheapest out there.

  3. Teri permalink
    February 11, 2012 4:04 pm

    Try buying beans in bulk at Winco or the LDS cannery. :)

  4. May 30, 2012 2:01 pm

    This is really helpful–thank you for sharing! My kids are allergic to dairy as well, and for our food storage, I was thinking that I can make oat milk rather than investing so much in powdered non-dairy milk. Oats are so much cheaper, and the milk can serve the same function as dairy milk in recipes. Just soak 2 cups of oats in 4 cups of water overnight, then squeeze all the liquid out of the oats through a mesh sieve the next day.

    • May 30, 2012 2:21 pm

      That’s a great alternative. I’ve just been hesitant to give my son oats, since they can be contaminated with gluten.

Trackbacks

  1. A Year of Favorites « The Rice of Life
  2. 2013 Plan to Build an Allergy-Friendly Food Supply « The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

