Skip to content

Herb-Rubbed Pork Chops Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

February 17, 2012
pork chops005

Herb rubs seem simple, but for a long time I wondered if I was doing it right. When I rubbed, it seemed that half the spices came off on my fingers, and another chunk would come off during cooking. So, I was excited to read the recipe for Herb-Rubbed Pork Chops from Taste of Home, since it gives clear instruction on how to actually do an herb rub. And I was surprised to see that almost all of it actually stuck to the meat.

The Changes

The only change I needed to make this free of Joseph’s allergies was to add more olive oil to the pan instead of cooking spray. I used boneless pork chops because I hate trying to cut meat off the bone. And I cut each chop in half because my husband doesn’t like how thick and tough porkchops can get. I also decided against making the pan juices, because when I do, I’m usually the only one who pours them on top of my meat or potatoes. But I didn’t decide that until I was in the middle of cooking, which is why the chicken broth appears in the ingredients picture.

The Method

First, prepare the rub by mixing all the spices (parsley, marjoram, sage, garlic powder, salt, and pepper) together in a small bowl.

To prepare the meat, I first carefully cut the porkchops in two, so that I had four thin chops. Next, I brushed each side with olive oil, then I rubbed the mixed herbs onto both sides of the meat.

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat, then add porkchops. Add porkchops and cook 2-3 minutes on each side until browned.

While there is a good chance that the porkchops would have been done after this (since they were so thin), the rest of the meal wasn’t done yet. So I turned the chops down to low until the potatoes and corn were done.

Herb-Rubbed Pork Chops

Adapted from Taste of Home

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
  • 1 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1 teaspoon rubbed sage
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 boneless pork loin chops
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons olive oil, divided

Mix parsley, marjoram, sage, garlic powder, salt, and pepper in a small bowl. Set aside.

Slice pork chops in half, so you have four thin chops. Brush 1 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil over all the porkchops (both sides). Rub herb mixture onto both sides of all the pork chops.

Heat remaining 3 tablespoons of oil in a large skillet. Cook porkchops over medium heat for 2-3 minutes on both sides.

Makes 4 small servings


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


 

What I Thought

This meal was nice and quick, and very tasty! My husband and I both enjoyed it. Joseph ate an entire chop and then some on his own. Best of all, after being force-fed the first bite of porkchop, my daughter willingly ate 5 more bites of it! It’s definitely a keeper! My only alteration might be reducing the amount of oil in the pan.

Shared at Allergy Friendly Friday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Allergy Free-Wednesdays, and Gluten-free Wednesdays

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2012 10:06 am

    I love dry rubs and flavorful pork chops. I’ll have to try your rub the next time.

    Thanks for sharing it at Allergy-Free Wednesdays, Anneliese! We hope to see you back again next week.

    ~Michelle, AFW Host

Trackbacks

  1. A Year of Favorites « The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

