Skip to content

Creamy Pasta Primavera Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

March 9, 2012
pasta003

Spring is coming, and asparagus is in season. I don’t often buy it, but as soon as it went on sale I bought some because I wanted to try adapting Creamy Pasta Primavera (from Taste of Home) to be Joseph-safe. I made the original recipe last year and really liked it, and I’ve been wanting a reason to experiment with a dairy-free alfredo type sauce, and this gave me the perfect excuse.

The Changes

I decided to use gluten-free shell shaped pasta instead of the spirals, since shells is what I had in my cupboard. I omitted the tomatoes, and used garlic powder instead of a clove of garlic. And instead of using a cream & parmesan based sauce, I adapted my Coconut-Ginger Sauce. And I added bacon, because that makes everything taste good.

canola oil, gf pasta, salt, coconut creamer, pepper, ginger, garlic, asparagus, carrots, bacon

The Method

Cook pasta according to package directions. Cook bacon until crispy. Trim off wooden stems of asparagus (bottom few inches) then cut the rest into pieces about 2″ long. (I got 4 pieces that were probably more like 1 1/2″ from each stalk). Peel carrots and slice them. Saute the vegetables in a large skillet until crisp-tender

In a separate bowl, combine 2 Tablespoons creamer with cornstarch. Add the rest of the creamer to the vegetables, along with all the spices. Here’s where I kind of made things up as I went, but I’m really glad with how it turned out. But I was too busy to take any pictures (well, I do have one picture, but it’s a bit blurry). Heat creamer mixture until boiling. Add cornstarch mixture, and stir until thickened. Add cooked pasta and crumbled bacon. Stir until it’s all coated with sauce.


Pin It

Creamy Pasta Primavera

Adapted from Taste of Home

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups brown rice small shell pasta
  • 1 pound asparagus, trimmed and cut into 2″ pieces
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 1 cup coconut creamer, divided
  • 1 Tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 lb bacon, cooked and crumbled

Cook pasta according to package directions. Saute asparagus and carrots in canola oil in a large skillet until crisp-tender

In a small bowl, combine 2 Tablespoons coconut creamer with the cornstarch until smooth. Pour the rest of the creamer into the skillet with the vegetables. Stir in pepper, garlic powder, salt, and ginger. Heat until boiling. Add cornstarch mixture. Stir and cook until thickened. Add pasta and bacon, and stir until everything is coated with sauce.

Makes 2-3 main dish servings

 


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


 

What I Thought

I was very excited as I saw the sauce thicken up. It was just the consistency I wanted it. It does seem to have gotten a bit clumpy as I added the pasta and bacon. I’m not sure if that’s because I didn’t stir it enough, or if I let it heat too long. And the taste was very good too. It’s not alfredo. You can detect the sweet nutty coconut. But the flavors are pleasant. My husband had seconds and thirds “despite the vegetables.” My daughter didn’t eat anything until my husband and I were almost done. Then she decided to lick one of the noodles. She liked it enough to eat two of them. Joseph just ate the bacon. I don’t think he quite believed me that the shell shapes were noodles. He and his sister are too used to spaghetti noodles.

I’d definitely do this again.

Shared on Allergy Friendly Monday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Allergy Free Wednesday, and Gluten-free Wednesday

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2012 7:22 am

    This looks really good!

  2. March 14, 2012 4:12 am

    Sounds very tasty! Love having new pasta recipes to try. My daughter is a macaroni and cheese feign and I think she would love something like this. Thanks for sharing :)

  3. Tori permalink
    March 16, 2012 10:10 am

    This looks amazing! Also, given your son’s allergies, have you ever looked into the Paleolithic diet? There is a large community that has a variety of gluten-free, dairy-free recipes that I think may be of interest to you. :)

    • March 16, 2012 12:05 pm

      I’ve heard of it before, but don’t want to cut out more than i already am. However, thanks for the heads up that they’re a good source to look to for recipes.

  4. March 16, 2012 8:03 pm

    I love creamy sauces, and of course dairy free means you have to be a bit creative! I also love when veg is in the dish, one pot wonders!

    • March 16, 2012 9:21 pm

      Yes, I do too. Thanks for commenting.

      • March 24, 2012 7:34 pm

        we had this tonight and really enjoyed it! I used 1 cup of So Delicious Unsweetened and 2 tablespoons sweet rice flour to thicken. I think I would use 1 1/2 cups-2 cups milk next time for more sauce, but it was still delicious as is! thanks!

      • March 25, 2012 12:50 pm

        I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  5. March 19, 2012 2:15 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe on Allergy-Free Wednesday! Hope you’ll join us again this week with another great recipe!

  6. March 20, 2012 2:09 pm

    FYI, I am featuring your recipe tonight on AFW!

  7. January 6, 2014 9:39 am

    Wonderful article. awesome content I look forward to reading your other posts. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Allergy Free Wednesdays #9 | Tessa the Domestic Diva
  2. Recipes Free of Top 8 Allergens Roundup « The Rice of Life
  3. Your Favorite Recipes for 2013 | The Rice of Life
  4. The Best of The Rice of Life Cookbook Now Available! | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

