Skip to content

Apple Puff Pancake Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free, Nut-free

April 6, 2012
pancake007

I very rarely cook breakfast. We have a wide variety of cold cereals, including a few Joseph-safe ones, for everyone to eat pretty much every day. And since this produces a very small amount of dishes, it’s ideal for me. One of the exceptions to this is general conference weekend. On this weekend, which happens twice a year, we plug our computer into our tv to listen to the talks that the prophet and apostles of our church have prepared for us. So to make these days special for our family, I’ll cook breakfast while we wait for it to start at 9am. This time around, I chose to make Apple Puff Pancakes from Cook it Allergy Free.

The Changes

This recipe is already Joseph-safe, since I followed Kim’s option for a nut-free puff pake. I did, however, swap out the coconut sugar for regular granulated sugar, since that’s what I had in my pantry. I also omitted the coconut flour, since I didn’t want to buy a whole bag of flour for a Tablespoon. I also opted to use canola oil instead of coconut oil.

The Method

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Pour oil into the bottom of a 9″ x 13″ pan. Top with apples and half of the sugar.

Put apples in the preheated oven for five minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare batter. In a mixing bowl, beat eggs well. Add in coconut milk, gluten-free flour, the rest of the sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, and salt. Mix until well blended.

When the apples are done baking, pour the batter over them.

Put the pan back in the oven for 20 minutes. Remember to use panholders, because it is still hot! Yes, I burned myself so you could learn from my mistake. Puff pancake is done when it starts to puff up and is brown.

I probably could have left mine in the oven for a little bit longer. It really looks nothing like  Kim’s golden brown puff pancake. I’m not sure if that’s because her apples didn’t float to the top, or if hers was just more well done, or if it was the almond flour she used.

Either way, the pancake will settle down as soon as it starts to cool, so serve immediately.


Apple Puff Pancake

Adapted from Cook it Allergy Free

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 apples, peeled, and very thinly sliced
  • 6 Tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 cup King Arthur Gluten-Free Multipurpose Flour*
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F

Pour oil into a 9″ x 13″ pan. Spread sliced apples on top of the oil. Sprinkle the apples with 3 Tablespoons sugar. Bake in preheated oven for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a mixing bowl, beat the eggs. Add in coconut milk, gluten-free flour, remaining 3 Tablespoons sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, and salt. Mix well.

When the apples are done baking, pour the batter over them. Return the pan to the oven for 20-30 minutes, or until pancake is puffed and browned. Serve immediately.

Serves 4

*To make your own flour mix, follow these instructions from King Arthur: Whisk together 6 cups (32 ounces) King Arthur stabilized brown rice flour; 2 cups (10 3/4 ounces) potato starch; and 1 cup (4 ounces) tapioca flour or tapioca starch. Store airtight at room temperature.

What I Thought

My pictures don’t show it very well, but the pancake part of this meal had a grayish hue that wasn’t very appetizing. I’m not sure what caused the hue, maybe the large amount of vanilla? However, it was quite tasty. My daughter even ate a significant portion of it. Joseph wolfed it down, though he ignored the apples. My husband enjoyed it as well. So, I’d consider doing this again.

Shared at Allergy Friendly Friday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Allergy-Free Wednesdays and Gluten-free Wednesdays

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2012 10:57 am

    I think it looks delicious, Anneliese. I’ve never thought of a baked pancake before, but that’s a great time-saving idea. Thanks for sharing at Allergy-Free Wednesdays again this week. As always, we hope to see you back next week.

    Have a great weekend!
    ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

