Skip to content

Cookbook Review: The Complete Allergy-Free Comfort Foods Cookbook

April 11, 2012

Ever since I saw the book trailer for The Complete Allergy-Free Comfort Foods Cookbook, I’ve been excited to get my hands on it. Now that I received it for my birthday, I’m very excited to try out these recipes. Not only are the many pictures mouthwatering, but with the exception of a few recipes that call for wine or sorghum beer, they are ALL safe for Joseph.

It’s interesting to note that for the baked goods, Gordon uses a variety of flours. The most common combination is Chinese/superfine rice flour, potato starch, and sorghum flour. The ratios vary slightly from recipe to recipe, so there is no big batch of all-purpose mix you can make the recipes from. She also occasionally uses a couple storebought all-purpose baking flours, masa harina, and millet flour. I’ll most likely stick to my usual brown-rice flour mix instead of adding chinese rice flour to my pantry, so we’ll see how those recipes turn out.

I have been planning to make her empenadas ever since I saw them in the recipe book. I’m also excited to try out her corn chowder, since it looks the best out of the allergy-free recipes I’ve seen for it. In addition, I’m excited for the variety of salad dressings, should I be able to convince Joseph that raw vegetables are worth eating. Currently, he doesn’t believe me. However, I’m sure he’ll enjoy the Double Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, which I think will be the next ice-cream I make for Joseph. The pupusas also intrigued me.

Elizabeth Gordon blogs at Allergy-Free Delights where she’s posted additional recipes that also look good. Have you tried any of her recipes? What do you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

