Skip to content

Special Lessons

April 18, 2012

Baby PaxtonA couple weeks ago, we listened to talks by our church’s prophet and apostles. My favorite talk was by Elder Rasband of the presidency of the seventy titled Special Lessons. In this talk, he described the birth of his grandson Paxton, who has a chromosomal deletion, which has left him in the NICU for some time. Then he said:

To all of you who have challenges, concerns, disappointments, or heartaches with a dear one, know this: with infinite love and everlasting compassion, God our Heavenly Father loves your afflicted one, and He loves you!

Some might ask when faced with such suffering, how could Almighty God let this happen? And then that seemingly inevitable question, why did this happen to me? Why must we experience disease and events that disable or call precious family members home early or extend their years in pain? Why the heartaches?

At these moments we can turn to the great plan of happiness authored by our Heavenly Father. That plan, when presented in the pre-earth life, prompted us all to shout for joy. (Job 38:7.) Put simply, this life is training for eternal exaltation, and that process means tests and trials. It has always been so, and no one is spared.

This definitely applies to those with food allergies. I don’t understand why God chose to allow Joseph to be unable to eat so many foods. But I trust that God has a plan for him. I don’t know all the changes this will make in our lives, and in the lives of others, but I have found a greater empathy building within me. I’ve found myself growing socially, as I’ve “met” other bloggers who have food allergies. I’ve also found these words from John to be true.

I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you. …

My peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. (John 14:18, 27)

As I have prayed over Joseph, I have felt that peace. I feel so blessed to have found so many resources to learn new recipes and techniques. I have been able to find so many products to be able to feed him.

There is a blog post some other allergy sufferers have passed along about how food allergies is worse than cancer. I can’t believe that. Yes, it’s hard to monitor every single food he eats. It’s hard to listen to his screams as I tell him he can’t eat something his sister is eating, because he’s allergic to it. But I choose to focus on our blessings. He is healthy and happy. And while it seems that food is everywhere, I’ve learned that there are plenty of activities that don’t involve food.

What special lessons have you learned as you deal with the challenge of a limited diet?

Shared on Allergy-Free Wednesday

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2012 8:36 am

    Wow, I can’t even imagine how it would be to be a child that young with food allergies. Mine didn’t start until I was in about 5th grade, but they were minor. They didn’t become a major issue until I went to college and was in stress overload. I found out I had a dairy and egg intolerance my first year there, but didn’t completely remove them from my diet until a few months ago, nearly 5 years later. I wish I would have done it sooner, but I didn’t have the support that I do now from my friends and family. It sure helps to have a good support system to live with food allergies and intolerances.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • April 25, 2012 12:46 pm

      There are pluses and minuses to having a young child with food allergies. He doesn’t know any different, so he doesn’t have as much to miss as someone who develops allergies later. Of course, it means we’ll have to navigate the school system and all the challenges that will bring, but that’s for another day.

  2. April 30, 2012 10:17 pm

    Beautiful post!

    Thank you for sharing your recipe with us last week on AFW! Be sure to check back this week for reader favorites and hostess picks.

    Be Well,
    –Amber & AFW Hostesses

  3. May 1, 2012 9:11 pm

    Hi, Annaliese. Thank you for connecting that General Conference talk to the trials of children with food allergies. It’s not easy, I know, especially when you first realize how many allergies there are. I remember being on the point of despair when I found out the extent of each of our children’s allergies. Bot now they are not so much of a burden now that I am used to it. I just try to enjoy all of the time I spend in the kitchen making lemons into lemonade. My kids are allergic to nuts, milk, eggs, flax, corn, and soy. I have a cooking blog–not all recipes are gluten-free, but some are (veganmommychef.blogspot.com). I am glad to have found you and look forward to following your blog.

    • May 2, 2012 7:21 am

      You’re welcome. It is easier to handle these allergies now that we know how to cook without these foods. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

