Skip to content

Lemon & Garlic New Potatoes Trial: Dairy-free, Soy-free, Gluten-free

April 20, 2012
potatoes004

Gluten-free Homemaker is featuring lemon recipes this month on her site. As I went through my cookbooks to find something to fit the theme, I came across this recipe for lemon and garlic potatoes from Taste of Home. It looked easy, and sounded yummy, so I whipped it up.

The Changes

Omitting the cheese was the only thing I needed to do to make it safe for Joseph. I did cut the potatoes to allow for nicer browning.

The Method

Halve or quarter the potatoes. Place potatoes in a large pot, cover with salted water, and boil for 10 minutes, or until tender.

Drain potatoes in a colander. In the same pot, heat oil on medium-high heat. Add potatoes and cook for about 5 minutes, or until browned. Add garlic, cook for another minute. Remove from heat, and add lemon juice and pepper.

Lemon & Garlic New Potatoes

Adapted from Taste of Home

Dairy-free, soy-free, gluten-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pound baby red potatoes
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, pressed/minced
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Cut potatoes into large bite size chunks and place in a large sauce pan. Cover with water, add a teaspoon or so of salt, and bring to a boil. Cook for 10 minutes, or until fork tender.

Drain potatoes in a colander. In the same pan, heat oil. When hot, add potatoes, and saute for about 5 minutes, or until browned. Add garlic, and cook for another minute. Remove from heat, add lemon juice and pepper, and stir to coat evenly.

Makes 4 servings.

What I Thought

I used concentrated lemon juice, and really regretted it when we sat down to eat. The taste was way too strong and tart. I couldn’t detect the garlic at all. I was also disappointed that the potatoes all mushed up when I was trying to cook them in the oil. I think I overcooked the potatoes during the boiling, or should have let the oil heat longer before adding the potatoes back in. Though when I saw the picture on the Taste of Home site, I was glad to see that the pictures looked similar, lack of cheese notwithstanding. My husband agreed with my on the taste of lemon being too strong. My kids didn’t even try them – they just whined for more fish sticks. My niece and nephew did eat them, but didn’t seem eager for more.

So, we’ll probably not make these again.

Shared at Gluten-free Wednesdays

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 3:52 pm

    I’m sorry they weren’t a big hit, but I bet with a few adjustments they could be. Fresh lemon juice would probably make a difference. They sound good to me.

    • May 1, 2012 4:17 pm

      I’m sure it would. My mom made the same recipe (with fresh lemon juice) and loved them.

Trackbacks

  1. Gluten-Free Wednesdays 5-2-12 | Elite Daily Diet and Fitness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

