Skip to content

Banana Cookies Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

April 27, 2012
bananacookies008

When I buy bananas at the store, my kids will beg to eat one as soon as I put the bunch in the cart. I will usually end up giving them one to eat on the way home. Then at home, the bananas will just sit on the counter. When I offer them to my kids, they’ll turn up their nose, especially if brown specks have begun to turn up. Often, I’ll just use them in smoothies, but this time I wanted to bake with them. So, I decided to modify a recipe for banana cookies I’d spotted on Six Sisters’ Stuff (original from Funky Polkadot Giraffe) to be safe for Joseph.

The Changes

The only changes I needed to make was to swap out the flour 1:1 with the gluten-free flour blend I use and add xanthan gum. I also decided to forego the frosting, since I didn’t feel like mixing it up.

The Method

Cream together sugar, shortening, and vanilla.

Add in eggs and mashed bananas.

In a separate bowl, combine gluten-free flour, xanthan gum, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Mix in to the banana mixture.

Drop spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet. Actually, they didn’t stick much to the sheet I forgot to spray with my Misto Oil Sprayer, so you don’t have to worry if you forget it too.

As I was taking this picture, I was thinking I should have used smaller spoonfuls.

Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for about 10 minutes, until golden.

I was right.

Let cool slightly, and enjoy.


Banana Cookies

Adapted from Funky Polkadot Giraffe

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup palm shortening
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 ripe to overripe bananas (about 1 cup, mashed)
  • 2 1/4 cup King Arthur Gluten-Free Multipurpose Flour*
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 teaspon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

Cream together shortening, sugar, and vanilla. Add eggs and mashed bananas.

In a separate bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients. Add to the banana mixture and mix until combined.

Drop spoonfuls of batter onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for 9-10 minutes, or until golden. Let cool for five minutes before removing to wire cooling racks.

Makes about 4 dozen cookies (or just more than 3 dozen, if you make them big like me)

*To make your own flour mix, follow these instructions from King Arthur: Whisk together 6 cups (32 ounces) King Arthur stabilized brown rice flour; 2 cups (10 3/4 ounces) potato starch; and 1 cup (4 ounces) tapioca flour or tapioca starch. Store airtight at room temperature.


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


 

What I Thought

My husband refuses to acknowledge these as cookies. The consistency is really more like a muffin-top. The batter would have worked really well as cupcakes. As cookies, they’re not as satisfactory to me, since they’re so light. They do taste nice, though there is a slight grittiness to them. Both my kids kept trying to sneak them from the cooling racks and the cookie jar. So, these are definitely worth tweaking.

Shared on Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Gluten-Free Wednesday and Allergy Free Wednesday

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

