Skip to content

Sunbutter Lettuce Wraps Trial: Nut-free, Dairy-free, Gluten-free

May 25, 2012
Sunbutter Lettuce Wrap

Lettuce wraps are a nice alternative to bread – at least they would be if I could figure out how to not have the leaves break on me as I roll them up. And then there’s adapting the filling inside so that its safe for Joseph to eat. This week, I decided to take a stab at the PB & Fruity Says “Let Us Rap” recipe, which won a contest on the Jif website.

The Changes

The change I made for allergies was to substitute sunbutter for the peanut butter. Even though Joseph has tested positive for eggs, I decided to use regular mayonnaise in this recipe, since its a fairly small amount. Also, since this would be the first time he’s eaten mayonnaise, I wanted to see what his reaction would be.

Also, the amounts given were more for what was needed for one person. So, I fudged the numbers as I upped the amounts to feed our whole family.

The Method

Chop chicken and fruit and mix in a bowl. Add sunbutter, mayonnaise, and honey, and mix until everything is well coated.

Spoon into an open lettuce leaf, wrap, and enjoy.

Sunbutter Lettuce Wraps

Adapted from Jif.com

Nut-free, Dairy-free, Gluten-free

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (two chicken breasts) cooked chicken, chopped
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • 1 cup grapes, cut in half
  • 1/2 cup sunbutter
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 Tablespoons honey
  • Romaine lettuce leaves

Chop chicken and fruit. Toss in a bowl. Add sunbutter, mayonnaise, and honey. Stir until everything is well coated. Spoon onto lettuce leaves, wrap, and serve.

Makes 4 servings

What I Thought

These were too saucy for me. I’d cut down the amount of sauce ingredients, and especially the amount of sunbutter. I wasn’t too fond of that flavor. Joseph refused to believe that the stuff on his plate was chicken, even when my husband wiped off the sauce. I’m not sure if that’s because he was grumpy because he had to be woken up from his nap, or if he got a tiny taste of egg from the mayonnaise¬†and it was making his mouth itch. His sister only wanted to eat bread. So we probably won’t do this again.

Shared at Allergy-Free Wednesday

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

