Skip to content

A Year of Favorites

May 30, 2012

A year ago, as I was trying to figure out what to feed Joseph now that he was weaned from his Alimentum formula, I decided it would be a good idea to create a dedicated blog for sharing our experiences and connecting with others. It’s pretty amazing to look back and see how much we’ve learned over the past year. So, for my first bloggiversary, I just wanted to highlight a few of my favorite blog posts over the past year.

Oh, and if any of you subscribers are on twitter, I finally joined up there – @AnnalieseLemmon. Leave me a comment with your handle, and I’d love to join in some twitter chats.

My Favorite Recipes:

Italian Chicken Soup – I’ve made this multiple times, and learned that to avoid the pinkish hue, I just need to rinse the tomatoes before adding them to the soup.

Sweet Cornbread – Another recipe I’ve made multiple times. It’s safe for Joseph, and just the way I like it – sweet, moist, and no “stuff” in it.

Sweet Cornbread Muffins

Cinnamon Rolls – I have not actually made this recipe again, since it does take a lot of work. But its one I’d be willing to do again if the occasion warrants a special breakfast.

Herb-Rubbed Pork Chops – Another recipe I haven’t made again, due to the fact that I don’t often buy pork chops. But these were so yummy, that they will definitely appear again on our table.

My Favorite Info Posts

Gluten-Free and the Word of Wisdom – It was a bit of a struggle for me to reconcile my faith, which says “wheat is for man” with my son’s gluten allergy. This post shows how my faith increased through my further study of the doctrine.

He is Not His Allergy – Whenever I get too depressed by my son’s allergies, I think back on the experience that prompted this post. It’s good to take the time to remember that while things are hard, there is so much to be grateful for.

Building a Year’s Supply of Allergy-Friendly Food in $10/week – My church encourages its members to have enough essential foods in the house to last for a year in case of emergencies. This is something I feel strongly about following, especially since Joseph may not have access to the foods he needs in the relief efforts. So far, I have been following the outline I gave, and its worked out pretty well.

Shared at Gluten-free Wednesdays and Allergy-Free Wednesdays

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2012 1:43 pm

    What a great round-up of recipes you have made! I am looking forward to trying your cinnamon rolls out very soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

