Skip to content

Teaching Toddlers About Allergies

June 13, 2012

Joseph is starting to recognize letters and numbers now, and it made me realize that I haven’t done much to explicitly teach him about his allergies. Part of the reason is that teaching my children academically has never been something I’ve pushed. It’s all happened just by spending time together reading books, or drawing, or doing puzzles.

When we read his occasional books that have food, I’ll often go through and say which he can and can’t eat (or those he has to eat special versions of). And if he’s screaming for something his sister has, I’ll tell him he can’t have it because he’s allergic, and then try to find him something that he can eat. I don’t expect him to have the ability or discipline to say “I can’t eat that.”

But now that his vocabulary is growing exponentially, I do need to take a more active role. I just hope to be able to do so without getting too depressed at all the things I have to teach him “no” to. Kids With Food Allergies has a great page that lists children’s books about allergies. Sadly, very few are in my local library. Most also seem to deal with just peanut allergies, but even those can be helpful.

What ideas have you used to teach children about allergies?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gamila permalink
    June 13, 2012 10:11 am

    Hey Andy!
    I found this really cool recipie that imitates ice cream. You freeze bananas, mash them up in the blender with honey or cocoa powder and then eat it up. I tried the recipie this week because I had over ripe bananas that I needed to get rid of. I put in too much cocoa powder, but it still tastes like a delicous ice cream treat. Here is a more detailed blog post about it. You should try it and see if you can adapt it somehow for Joseph.

    http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-creamy-ice-cream-w-93414

    Emily

    • June 13, 2012 12:49 pm

      I’ve seen similar recipes to that before. I’ll definitely have to try it sometime. Joseph LOVES ice-cream.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

