Skip to content

Kitchen Disasters

June 27, 2012

No First Try Friday post last week, due to vacation. My husband and I took a trip to Alaska, while my parents graciously watched the kids for us. I felt perfectly safe doing this, because my parents have always been supportive of having food on the table that Joseph can eat whenever we visit.

However, it was interesting to see my mom working through some of the same kitchen disasters that we’ve had in our house as we adjusted to cooking gluten-free.

First off, corn tortillas are so dang fragile. If you use them straight out of the package, they have a tendancy to break as you roll them up. I’ve learned to get around this by warming them in the microwave wrapped in wet paper towel, and then working very quickly so they stay pliant. I showed this to mom, and her second attempt at Joseph-safe enchiladas turned out much better.

Second, gluten-free spaghetti can be tricky. I like using Tinkyada spaghetti, so that’s what I told my mom to buy for Joseph. I forgot to tell her that it usually takes longer to cook than regular spaghetti, so his was still crunchy when everyone else’s spaghetti was done. However, at home, my husband doesn’t like Tinkyada, because it can be slimy, and if you rinse it, it gets cold. So, I’ve been cooking with corn-quinoa pasta more lately. It has a more pleasant texture, but it is so hard to keep the noodles from sticking together. I’ve found moderate success in cooking it with an abundance of water, and adding a few drops of oil to the water.

Do you have any tips with these foods? Or do you have any recent kitchen tales to tell?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 7:32 am

    Hi, I found your blog through glutenfreelyfrugal.com. My absolute favorite gluten free pasta is made by Casalare. I usually get the macaroni twists and use them for everything that calls for pasta (with spaghetti sauce, for mac & cheese, cold noodle salads, etc), The ingredients listed on the box I have here are: Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Maize Flour, Tapioca Starch, Water, Vegetable Gum (405). They are made in Australia.

    Everyone’s tastes are individual but for me they don’t have the same aftertaste that I notice with other gluten free pastas.

    Also, when cooking gluten free pastas I recommend checking them as you go for desired doneness. Sometimes I haven’t been as pleased with the quality of other pastas when I cook for as long as is suggested on the box. I also sometimes use oil in the water like you are doing.

    • July 1, 2012 1:10 pm

      I’ve never seen Casalare pasta, but it sounds good. I definitely check the pasta as i go to see if its done yet. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

