Skip to content

Grilled Stuffed Zucchini Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

July 20, 2012
Grilled Stuffed Zucchini

Zucchini is one of the few vegetables that my husband likes. So this year, I decided to take a stab at growing some so I could create lots of zucchini bread and other foods Joseph would eat. Unfortunately, said zucchini plant has had to contend with my black thumb, very sandy and rocky soil, and cool weather. I am getting a few blossoms, but no signs of any vegetables yet, and the leaves are still quite small. I’ll try again next year, in a container with better soil.

For now, I bought some zucchini so I could try out a dish I’ve been wanting to make Joseph-safe for awhile – grilled stuffed zucchini from Our Best Bites.

The Changes

To make it Joseph-safe, I omitted the bread crumbs and cheese. I also made changes for what I normally keep in my kitchen – onion and garlic powder, and canned tomato instead of the fresh ingredients. I never use my garlic up in time, I hate having partial onions in my fridge, and my family NEVER eats fresh tomatoes.

zucchini, canned tomatoes, ground beef, garlic powder, onion powder, basil, (not pictured: salt, pepper, and olive oil)

The Method

Slice zucchini in half, lengthwise. Scoop out the centers (reserving in a bowl) leaving 1/4″ around the sides and bottom. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Brown ground beef. Add drained tomatoes, chopped reserved zucchini flesh, and spices. Let cook through for 1-2 minutes.

Cook zucchini hollow part down on grill over medium heat for 5 minutes, until char marks show. Remove from heat and stuff with filling. Return to the grill, filling side up, for five minutes or until tender.

Note: with the amounts I used, I had a lot of filling leftover. So in typing out the recipe, I’m increasing the number of zucchini you want.

Grilled Stuffed Zucchini

Adapted from Our Best Bites

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 medium to large zucchini
  • 1/2 pound ground beef
  • 1 14.5 ounce can petite diced tomatoes, drained & rinsed
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Slice zucchini in half, lengthwise. Scoop out the centers, leaving 1/4″ around the sides and bottom, and reserving flesh in a bowl. Drizzle with olive oil, and season with salt and pepper. Set aside and preheat grill to medium.

In a medium skillet, cook ground beef. Add tomatoes, chopped reserved zucchini flesh, garlic powder, onion powder, and basil. Heat through for 1-2 minutes.

Cook zucchini on the grill, hollow side down for five minutes until char marks form. Remove from heat, and stuff with filling. Place back on the grill, filling side up for five minutes until tender.

Makes 4-5 servings


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


 

What I Thought

I thought these were quite nice. My husband gave them a B-, since they weren’t as horrible as broccoli. Neither of my kids wanted to touch them at all.

Shared on Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Gluten-free Wednesdays and Allergy-Free Wednesday

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2012 5:06 pm

    This looks like something I would love! And I bet my family would like it too. Thanks for sharing it at Gluten Free Wednesdays.

  2. January 4, 2014 1:48 pm

    A great recipe I can’t wait to try out. I love Zucchini and those adventurous enough to use it! I wish more would.

    I came up with my own version of a Stuffed Zucchini with an Arab twist. While different from your own, I think its a unique take on the dish. I’m new to the Food Blog scene and would love some feedback from a pro like you. Check out my recipe if have time.

    http://persnicketypanhandler.blogspot.com/2012/09/kousa-sahel.html

Trackbacks

  1. Gluten-Free Wednesdays 8-1-12 | Elite Daily Diet and Fitness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

