Skip to content

Blondies Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

August 24, 2012
blondies 006

When Enjoy Life sent me the granola to review, they also sent a bag of their semi sweet chocolate mega chunks. These chocolate pieces are about as big as two regular-sized chocolate chips put together, and taste just fine. I hadn’t decided what to make with them when I turned the bag around and saw a recipe for allergy-free¬†blondies. Instantly, that’s what I wanted to make.

The Changes

The recipe was made free of the top 8 allergens, but I made some substitutions for what I actually have in my pantry.

The Method

In a mixing bowl, cream together eggs, oil, sugar, and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, xanthan gum, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Mix it into the wet ingredients until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

Pour batter into a greased 9×9 pan, and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, or until golden brown. Except I was expecting these to be more like vanilla brownies. So when I checked on them at 20 minutes, and the top jiggled very loosely, even though it was starting to turn light brown, I left them in for 10 more minutes. They only became slightly more set.

Let cool completely, or they will be quite gooey. We couldn’t wait for longer than half an hour before digging in.

Blondies

Adapted from Enjoy Life

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, and grease a 9×9 baking pan.

In a large bowl, cream together eggs, vanilla, oil, and brown sugar. In a separate bowl, combine flour, xanthan gum, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until combined. Stir in chocolate chunks.

Pour batter into greased baking pan and bake for 20-22 minutes, or until golden brown. Let cool completely before cutting and serving.

Makes about 12 servings.

*To make your own flour mix, follow these instructions from King Arthur: Whisk together 6 cups (32 ounces) King Arthur stabilized brown rice flour; 2 cups (10 3/4 ounces) potato starch; and 1 cup (4 ounces) tapioca flour or tapioca starch. Store airtight at room temperature.

What I Thought

I was surprised at the texture of the blondies, because as I said earlier, I was expecting them to be more like brownies. They were quite gooey when warm, and very soft when cool. I also found them slightly gritty.¬†My husband and I quite liked the taste though. Joseph ate his entire blondie, with a little reminding. My daughter ate half of hers after saying “I love brownie” (My husband kept telling the kids we were having brownies, not blondies). I might try this again with some tweaking.

As for the Mega Chunks, I’d definitely buy them again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

