Skip to content

Return of Eczema

August 29, 2012

Of course, it never went away completely, but we’ve had a bad flareup of eczema lately. It was even spreading to Joseph’s elbow, and he’s  been scratching the back of his neck. I’m sure part of it is due to the heat wave we had a few weeks ago. Our house does not have air conditioning, so as the house temperature hit the 80s, we all sweated lots. That’s when Joseph’s eczema first started to get worse.

The fact that it hasn’t gone away despite lotioning frequently makes me wonder if he is getting a food trigger in his diet as well. Except I’m not sure what it is. He is eating soy now, but not very frequently. Nor am I giving him baked milk frequently. I suspect there might be something in the hot dogs he loves to eat for lunch. Also, my husband giving him cheetos as a test hasn’t been helpful either.

There could also be stress as we work on potty training. He’s had only 1 successful go on the potty, and lots of accidents. I’ve been putting him straight in underpants, since he will hold it until I put a diaper on. He is learning that going in his pants is unpleasant, but that hasn’t helped us go on the potty.

So yeah, things are stressful lately. We’ll get through it.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 6:12 am

    I wish I could help. I read an article in the NYTimes about autism and immune disorders, which doesn’t apply to your son except that they talk about other conditions that share the same root with other inflammatory bowel diseases like celiac, which is what interested me. The article is enlightening well beyond the implications for autism as so many related immuno conditions are on the rise. The article briefly mentions probiotics, but I have noticed that drinking kefir regularly has helped me as well as Greek or homemade yogurt. I started making my own kefir in fact because the change was significant. Anyway, here’s the link if you are interested. It might have some insights. Good luck.
    here’s the link: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/26/opinion/sunday/immune-disorders-and-autism.html?_r=3

    • August 30, 2012 2:01 pm

      Thanks, J. That article has some interesting information, which I have heard before. I’ll consider it.

  2. August 31, 2012 10:45 am

    Sorry about the flare. It’s so frustrating when you can’t exactly pinpoint the problem. I hope the answer magically pops in your head one day. That’s what I always hope for myself. lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

