Skip to content

Friends Who Get It

September 5, 2012

Since I often hear about friends/family who don’t help accommodate people with food allergies, I thought I would spotlight a couple of my friends who recently stepped up to the plate.

One friend had us over for dinner, and she made sure to check that everything was safe for Joseph. She even made a quinoa dish, instead of something with rice or potatoes that I had suggested. Too bad Joseph didn’t appreciate it as much as I did. He’s started to enter the picky phase of toddler-hood.

Also recently, we went to a birthday celebration at my brother-in-laws. Before, I’ve always provided a treat for Joseph, and this time around, I had a couple cookies in my bag to give him. But they surprised me with a cake that my sister-in-law had made from a gluten-free mix and an experimental frosting made with shortening and banana. Joseph quite liked it, which makes me happy.

Little things like this make my day. It feels so nice to have my son included in everything. How has someone made your day recently?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2012 6:43 am

    So true. I never expect people to accommodate my allergies, so when they do, it’s such a gift.

  2. September 9, 2012 8:18 am

    I belong to a mom’s group and there are many gatherings that involve kids and food. My son has a bad allergy to eggs (and is only 18 months old). I brought up my concerns and feelings about wanting people to accommodate at the larger gatherings to one of the active members, so I don’t have to worry about him finding a morsel of muffin or some such thing and putting it into his mouth. She was very supportive and had already been thinking about it, and was already willing to take a few steps further than I was. Her son does not have good allergies, so I was surprised and so happy by her response.

  3. Jenny L. permalink
    September 11, 2012 6:11 pm

    Friends who get it really make my day. I am blessed to have so many friends and family who go out of their way to help me. Another thing that really makes my day is when I have a waiter or waitress that get it – that is go great. I always make sure I seek out the manager and tell him/her how nice it was to have intelligent/informed staff that know what they are talking about regarding food allergies.

  4. September 15, 2012 1:02 pm

    Thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

