Skip to content

Beef Stroganoff Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-Free

September 14, 2012
beef stroganoff: gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free

My favorite recipe for beef stroganoff comes from my college roommate, Gamila. Not only was it tasty, but it was easy too. You just tossed stew meat, condensed golden mushroom soup, and onion soup mix into a crockpot and cooked it for a few hours. Of course, Joseph can’t eat that, so I decided to try my hand at recreating it this week. I’ve not seen a recipe for golden mushroom soup, so I adapted a recipe for dairy & gluten-free cream of mushroom soup from Living Without‘s April/May 2012 issue, and added some tomato paste to it.

The Changes

I decided to not cook it in the crockpot, since I’ve heard from scratch cream of soups don’t do as well in there. And instead of doing an onion soup mix, I added an onion to the mushroom soup.

The Method

In a large pot, saute chopped mushrooms and onion until tender.

Put mushrooms and onion in a blender with the beef broth. Puree until smooth. Place back in saucepan with 1 cup of coconut milk.

Bring to a boil. In the meantime, stir together cornstarch and remaining coconut milk. Add to the boiling soup, along with tomato paste, salt, and pepper.

Brown the beef, then add it to the soup. Serve with hot gluten-free noodles.

Beef Stroganoff

Gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups finely chopped mushrooms
  • 4 Tablespoons canola oil, divided
  • 3/4 cup beef broth
  • 3 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut milk, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 6 oz can tomato paste
  • 1 pound stew meat

Saute onion and mushrooms in 2 Tablespoons canola oil in a large saucepan until tender. Transfer onion and mushrooms to a blender with beef broth. Puree until smooth.

In a small bowl, combine cornstarch with 1/2 cup coconut milk. Transfer pureed mushrooms back to saucepan and add remaining coconut milk. Bring to a boil. Add cornstarch mixture, salt, pepper, and tomato paste. Cook and stir for about 2 minutes, until thickened.

Meanwhile, saute stew meat in remaining oil. Add to soup and serve over hot gluten-free noodles.

Makes about 4 servings

What I Thought

I thought it tasted nice, but with a few tweaks, would be superb. I found the soup a bit too thick and the tomato too strong. I think both problems could be solved by subbing the tomato paste for tomato sauce, or at the very least, just using less tomato paste. I also think adding some garlic would make it taste superb. My husband thought it was all right, and agreed on tomato being too strong. My daughter wiped off the noodles that had been contaminated by the sauce. Joseph, however, asked for thirds and fourths, and got the sauce EVERYWHERE. Definitely worth tweaking this recipe.

Shared on Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Gluten-free Wednesday and Allergy-free Wednesday

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2012 6:38 pm

    I am now making stroganoff this week. You reminded me of how much I love this recipie!

Trackbacks

  1. Beef mushrooms | Honespot
  2. Your Favorite Recipes for 2013 | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

