Skip to content

Support Groups

September 26, 2012

While exploring the Puyallup Fair last week, I discovered the booth manned by Washington FEAST, a group dedicated to helping individuals and caregivers who are affected by food allergies, eczema, and asthma. Although I feel like I’ve now got a good handle on Joseph’s allergies, I was glad to discover them. I love that they tell us about local events for supporting those with food allergies. For example, there’s a FAAN walk for curing food allergies that I’d like to participate in, if it wasn’t on Sunday. They also have links to my specific school district’s policy on food allergies for when we get to that point.

Washington FEAST also had information from the National Eczema Association, which has been interesting to go through as well. Their site is up to date with the latest research on eczema, and their facebook community seems quite vibrant with people giving support one to another. An interesting thing I learned from their pamphlet is that the military automatically excludes people with atopic dermatitis (eczema). I’ll definitely use them as a resource if we get another bad flareup with Joseph.

Do you have any groups that you use for support?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

