Skip to content

Elegant Fruit Bliss Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

September 28, 2012
fruit salad 004

My husband would much rather have fruit as a side for dinner than vegetables. I didn’t grow up that way, but I will accommodate him occasionally. So I knew he would like the Elegant Fruit Bliss recipe from Taste of Home. I liked that the simple dressing was naturally┬ádairy-free, which I’ve not found very often in fruit salads.

The Changes

This recipe was naturally Joseph-safe, so my changes involved cutting it in half for our smaller family.

The Method

This salad is more time consuming than complicated. Chop up all the fruit and put it in a large bowl. Mix the nectar, honey, lemon juice, and vinegar in a small bowl, then pour over the fruit. Toss to coat well. It took me a while wandering the store to find where the nectar was kept, since I was thinking like agave nectar, it would be by the honey. Turns out, it was by the juice. So, now you know. And be sure to serve it in a bowl, because this dressing will run all over a plate and into your other food. While interesting, fruit flavored rice wasn’t what I was expecting for dinner.

Elegant Fruit Bliss

Adapted from Taste of Home

gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cantaloupe, peeled, seeded, and cubed
  • 1 cup cubed fresh pineapple
  • 1 orange, peeled and sectioned
  • 1 kiwifruit, peeled and sliced
  • 1 cup grapes
  • 6 Tablespoons apricot nectar
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon balsalmic vinegar

In a large bowl, combine fruit. In a small bowl, combine nectar, honey, lemon juice, and vinegar. Pour over fruit, and toss to coat.

Makes 4-6 servings


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

My husband and I both quite liked this salad. The dressing adds a very subtle flavor to the fruit. Neither of my kids wanted to touch it though. Ah well.

Shared on Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Gluten-free Wednesday, and Allergy-free Wednesday

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

