Skip to content

Terrible Twos With Allergies

October 10, 2012

I should have seen it coming. All the time I talked about how Joseph is perfectly happy with substitutes, I forgot one important thing – the terrible twos were coming. They have now struck full force, and its becoming hard to get him to eat anything. Conversations about food generally go “Do you want x?” “No.” He’s gotten tired of the standard foods, and wants something new. Sometimes that includes what we’re eating for dinner. Like recently, we had regular pasta while he ate his own pizza. Usually, he would gobble that pizza down with no problem, but no, he wanted noodles.

It’s tough to go back to stage one and figure out new foods for him to eat. There are some things that he loves to eat, like yogurt,┬ábut they’re so expensive, I only get them occasionally. I don’t have time in the mornings to make pancakes for him, which he always scarfs down. And at dinner, he regularly ignores his vegetables and potatoes.

Any tips out there for feeding difficult toddlers? Right now, breakfast is the toughest thing, but I’m working around that by making something on the weekend that he can eat through the week. I’d love to hear what you say.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. colleenmoore0301 permalink
    October 10, 2012 6:35 am

    I’d love the same info, please post a list of ideas when you get some. :)

    We’re new to the food allergy thing…but before we found out the pediatrician suggested putting different foods in a muffin tray so my 2yo had choices that he had access to during the day. Now I’m not sure what to put in it…so I’m trying to figure that out. AND I’m trying to figure out how to keep my 11mo from overturning the tray! Lol!

  2. October 10, 2012 7:24 am

    Wow. Pizza was always a winner for us. I must confess, we do cold cereal most mornings. Chex has GF cereals, but that may not work for you. I recently got some buckwheat groats from Amazon–Bob’s Red Mill brand. I love them! They have a tapioca texture and if I soak them overnight in some water and then cook them in the morning they’re a bit more tender than if I just cook them straight with no soaking in the morning. I usually cook a cupful at a time and that lasts me for 3 to four days. I just reheat it and add some honey each morning.

    Foods my kids love–they don’t have allergies though–are chicken nuggets, fish sticks, tater tots/fries (sweet potato fries are my favs but not my husband). I also have let my little one drink her soup through a straw when she balked at having soup and that seemed to help. You could I guess make a big batch of waffles, freeze them and then just toast them for breakfast. Good luck. Wish I had more to offer.

Trackbacks

  1. Picky Eating Follow Up « The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

