Skip to content

Coconut Caramel Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

October 19, 2012
coconut caramel 003

So I have been wanting to make a dairy-free caramel for some time, but was so intimidated by it that I didn’t get around to it until 8:00 last night. That’s what I get for procrastinating.

The Changes

I mostly followed the recipe from Comfy Belly, but made a few tweaks, such as using an entire can of coconut milk instead of just a cup, and substituting brown sugar for the honey.

The Method

Since I was planning on using this sauce more as a fondue rather than making caramel apples, I decided to make it in my fondue pot. In the future, I would do it in a saucepan so you can keep the sugar mixture at a steady simmer. In my fondue pot, it just switched between a rolling boil and nothing. I also would have liked to use a candy thermometer.

Anyway, the instructions are to combine the ingredients in your pot, and stir while it comes to a boil. Then keep stirring while it simmers. It will need to simmer for at least 15 minutes to start thickening up. It will also darken.

I don’t know what the little brown bits are in the sauce. I’m guessing that its the coconut. Once its cooked enough, let it cool some before you start dipping. You don’t want to burn your mouth, and it will thicken as it cools. Mine wasn’t thick enough the first time so I heated it back up.

Coconut Caramel

Adapted from Comfy Belly

Dairy-free, Nut-free, Gluten-free

Ingredients

  • 1 13 oz can coconut milk
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon  salt

Combine all ingredients in a heavy saucepan and bring to a boil. Stir and simmer for at least fifteen minutes, until a candy thermometer reads between 225 and 250 degrees F, or until the sugar mixture gets thick and dark. Let cool. Serve with fruit and marshmallows.

Makes 4-6 servings

What I Thought

While I was a little disturbed at the sight of the dark brown bits, it didn’t affect the texture very much. It tasted like caramel, which I thought was great. My husband said it wasn’t as sweet as he expected. Joseph just wanted to eat the caramel straight. His sister just twirled an apple round and round and didn’t eat it. Ah well.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2012 6:50 am

    It sounds tasty. I never knew Caramel had dairy

  2. October 23, 2012 9:40 am

    Hey Andy!
    Wanted to give you a heads up The Food Allergy Mama’s Baking Book by Kelly Rudnicki is currently for free on kindle. Maybe it could have some snack ideas for Joseph in it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

