Skip to content

Hot Cross Buns Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

February 7, 2014
hot cross buns 005

infantinsomnia cover final copyThose who have followed my blog for awhile know that I write fantasy stories for fun. Recently, I accomplished my life long goal of becoming a published author with my short story “Infant Insomnia.” It’s about a mother whose six-week-old daughter is failing to thrive. She uses her ability to see the future to try to figure out what she can do to save her baby. The answer is not related to allergies, but I used my experiences in dealing with Joseph’s allergies to convey the right emotions. Check out a free sample of my story on my writing blog.

To celebrate my story being available on Kindle, on Nook, on iBooks, and at Smashwords (for PDF, DOC, and HTML versions), I made some hot cross buns this week. The setting is based on an alternate 18th century London, so I wanted a British food, even though hot cross buns are traditionally made at Easter instead of February. I used the recipe from Annalise Roberts’ Gluten-Free Baking Classics as a base.

The Changes

I decided to make these dairy-free even though Joseph is tolerating baked milk now, so I subbed coconut milk 1:1 for regular milk. I also couldn’t find candied orange peel in my local store, so I had to go without. Next time, I’ll order some from Amazon.

golden raisins, canola oil, sugar, coconut milk, GF flour, sweet rice flour, yeast, salt, vanilla, powdered sugar, xanthan gum, eggs

The Method

Combine warm milk, yeast, 1 Tablespoon sweet rice flour, and 1 Tablespoon sugar. Cover with a towel and set aside for about 5 minutes until mixture becomes foamy.

Meanwhile, mix eggs and canola oil together in a small bowl and set aside.

hot cross buns 002

In the bowl of your mixer, combine GF flour, xanthan gum, salt, remaining 1 Tablespoon sweet rice flour, and remaining 3 Tablespoons of sugar. Add milk and egg mixtures all at once and stir until combined. Then beat at high speed for about 3 minutes.

hot cross buns 003

Mix in golden raisins. Spoon dough into greased cupcake pan. These were so full I probably should have made 12 instead of 10.

hot cross buns 004

Cover and let rise 1 hour, until doubled. Bake at 375 degrees F for 20 minutes until golden brown. Remove from baking pan and let cool about 30 minutes.

In a small bowl, combine powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla until smooth and creamy. Spoon into a piping bag and pipe an “x” onto each bun.

hot cross buns 005
Hot Cross Buns

Adapted from  Gluten-Free Baking Classics

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Dough Ingredients

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons yeast (1 packet)
  • 2 Tablespoons sweet rice flour, divided
  • 1/4 cup sugar, divided
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 3/4 cups brown rice flour blend
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 1/3 cup candied orange peel

Icing Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Warm the milk 30-60 seconds in the microwave (ideal temperature 110 degrees F). Add yeast, 1 Tablespoon sweet rice flour, and 1 Tablespoon sugar. Stir to combine, then cover and set aside for 5-10 minutes, until it becomes foamy.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, beat together eggs and oil. In the bowl of your mixer, stir together brown rice flour blend, xanthan gum, salt, remaining 3 Tablespoons sugar, and remaining 1 Tablespoon sweet rice flour. Add milk and egg mixtures all at once to the flour, and beat until combined. Then beat at high speed for about 3 minutes until batter becomes thickened. Mix in raisins.

Spoon dough into a greased cupcake pan so each well is half full. Cover, and let rise in a warm place until buns have doubled and filled wells (about 1 hour).

Bake at 375 degrees F for about 20 minutes, until golden brown. Remove from pan and cool on a rack about 30 minutes.

Combine icing ingredients in a small bowl. Spoon into a pastry tube and pipe an “x” onto each bun.

Makes about 1 dozen buns

What I Thought

infantinsomnia cover final copyI don’t remember what real hot cross buns are supposed to taste like, since we never really had them growing up, even though my mom is British. These were soft and springy, and quite nice. My husband liked them. Joseph only ate the top of one, and my daughter didn’t really touch hers. Oh well. It is my celebration.

“Infant Insomnia” available now:  free sample | Kindle | Nook | iBooks | Smashwords

Shared on Gluten-free Wednesdays and Allergy-free Wednesdays

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mehwish permalink
    February 13, 2014 12:51 am

    I want to know that what is the substitute of xanthan gum & sweet rice flour but all the substitutes are gluten free plz

    • February 13, 2014 7:53 am

      I’m sorry, but I don’t know. Sweet rice flour is what gives it the soft texture, and I’ve never cooked without xanthan gum.

  2. February 19, 2014 3:21 pm

    Candied orange peel is easy to make.

    • February 19, 2014 4:01 pm

      I’ve never seen a how-to on that. Do you have a link or can you describe the process?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

