Skip to content

Introducing "The Rice of Life"

April 15, 2011

This week, I got an idea to fictionalize my experiences with Joseph. Brainstorming just got me more and more excited until I started writing three days ago. So far, I’ve averaged 800 words a day. That is the best rate I’ve done since my eldest was born! I wonder how long I can keep it up. It’s not fantasy, but falls under LDS Fiction, a category I never thought I would write.

There are a few reasons I’ve decided to fictionalize it. 1 – there are quite a few memoirs about going gluten-free/following other restrictive diets. 2 – I’m too introspective to be a very interesting character. I want my main character to be someone more dynamic. 3 – There are a few conversations I want to tweak so that my main character says what I wish I said. 4 – I want to mix and match the characters with people’s characteristics/conversations in order to protect the innocent.

I’ll keep things updated here on my progress. I hope it goes well!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. deckergeek permalink
    April 15, 2011 5:04 pm

    Sounds awesome! Can’t wait to read it, whenever you feel like it’s available to be read.

  2. April 17, 2011 8:42 pm

    Thanks decker!

Leave a Reply

