Skip to content

Choosing a Non-Dairy Milk

July 13, 2011

Before I had to take a trip down the non-dairy aisle, I was never aware of how many options there were for a non-dairy drink. Unfortunately, Joseph reacted to soy and almond milk. He hasn’t tried oat milk yet, because I haven’t found a brand that is gluten-free. So, that leaves us with rice milk, hemp milk, and I most recently discovered, coconut milk.

I’ve mostly been giving Joseph rice milk, but I started to grow dissatisfied with it. The milk is so sweet, I started to wonder if it was really that much better than juice. It also didn’t have much fat or protein, which a growing toddler needs. So I decided to do some research into the various milks, and here is what I found (source Noshtopia)

Out of the three options, hemp milk actually appeals most to me with the 4 grams of protein. However, I just can’t bring myself to feed my baby something from the marajuana plant. I like the added fat in the coconut milk, and find its taste more like cow’s milk than rice milk. But it isn’t as enriched with vitamins as rice milk is. So, for now, I will switch between the two so Joseph gets the best of both worlds.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 1:04 pm

    I can relate well to this post. While I didn’t have as many milk-free options (hemp and coconut milk weren’t around) for my milk and soy allergic son Eden, I used to add cold pressed coconut oil to his rice milk so he could get the fat plus the vitamins (minus the protein.) I would encourage you to add all the healthy extras you can get away with while your child is still young and can’t ask you “What are you putting in my milk mom?”

    And good luck to you on your novel!

  2. August 16, 2011 8:08 am

    Thanks Susan. I’ve heard of adding oil to rice milk for the fat, though haven’t done it yet. I do find it important to hide healthy extras since my daughter is extremely picky when it comes to food.

Leave a Reply

