Skip to content

Recent Eating Adventures

August 10, 2011

I decided to see how Joseph would react to baby oatmeal. I’d given it to him last when I was still nursing. He didn’t seem to have a reaction at the time, but he still was reacting to foods I accidentally ate. Now that he’s been clear for awhile, I wanted to try again. This time around, he got noticeably grumpy, and his eczema flared up. It wasn’t a huge reaction, as he’s had with other grains, but it’s enough that I want to restrict him to only certified gluten-free oats.

I made a puree with blueberries, spinach, and lemon juice to feed Joseph. He’s already safely eaten the spinach. I haven’t officially tested the lemon juice (4 days in a row) but he ate it in pear sorbet with seemingly no problems. Unfortunately, he got diarrhea and diaper rash so bad it was prone to bleed. I don’t know if this was because of the blueberries, or if the blender wasn’t completely cleaned after having milk products in it. I want to try again some time with a new batch.

Joseph likes to eat Wheat Thins his sister leaves around. Too bad his stomach doesn’t like them. They sure make him cranky a few hours later.

It’s been a few months since I’ve tried Joseph with milk, so I had been thinking about giving him a food challenge with it. He decided to test himself. He pulled the tablecloth on our table, dumping a glass of milk on himself. He promptly broke out in hives. Guess I won’t be feeding him milk for another few months.

And to end on a good note – we’ve been feeding him grapes off and on, without any reaction, though it hasn’t been for 4 days in a row. So last week I gave him cookies with raisins in them, and he seemed to eat them without any problem! Wahoo!

Leave a Reply

