Skip to content

FAQ: Goat’s Milk for Cow’s Milk Allergy

August 17, 2011

Q: Is goat’s milk an alternative for Joseph to drink with his cow’s milk allergy?

A: According to my research on the web, it is the protein in the cow’s milk that Joseph is reacting to, and the protein in goat’s milk (and buffalo’s milk and sheep’s milk) is similar enough that most children react to it as well. I have not tried it, and as there is a high likelihood of a reaction, I cannot justify the expense of a full thing of goat’s milk just to put a few drops on his skin to see if he breaks out into hives. This also means I will not be giving him any goat cheese or buffalo cheese. I doubt the rest of us would eat it, should he prove unable to.

That said, if someone wanted to donate some goat’s milk so we could verify this, we’d take it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 5:28 pm

    I have no goat’s milk, but if the goat cheese does react…dark chocolate goat cheese brownies are delicious! Kind of like brownies swirled with cream cheese, but tangier. I don’t make it often because when I do, they don’t last long. If you need something to use up extra goat’s cheese, I heartily recommend it. (I suppose that would have gluten in it, but if it’s to use up goat cheese because Joseph can’t eat it…that works, right?)

  2. August 17, 2011 6:37 pm

    I’ll have to think about that. Because the idea of goat cheese in brownies appeals to me as much as spinach in brownies. There are also other foods I want to test before goat’s cheese, but if I ever decide to do it, I’ll ask for your recipe.

  3. August 21, 2011 10:46 am

    Forget animals milks for now. You have the right attitude, it’s just not worth it with so many other alternative milks out there! We’re loving coconut milk at our house right now. But definitely worth hiding some gorgeous goat chreve in the back of your fridge for you to have! The blog looks great!

  4. August 23, 2011 9:28 pm

    Thanks Trisha. That’s what I had figured with the goats milk. I’m not even sure where I’d buy it, though I recently found some that was more expensive than coconut milk. I just keep getting asked about it so I wanted to post about why I haven’t tried it yet.

  5. September 23, 2011 12:28 am

    I was extremely allergic to cow dairy as an infant and I believe the goat milk was equally bad. I had to drink soy based formula. I eventually outgrew the allergy.

Leave a Reply

