Skip to content

Family History of Gluten Sensitivity

August 24, 2011

When my cousin was 18 months old, she was a super cranky baby. Her mother tried everything, and then decided to try a gluten-free diet. The crankiness stopped. The doctors wanted to do a scope to diagnose for celiac. My aunt thought that this was too invasive for a toddler when they already knew the gluten-free diet helped. They did have some blood work done, but this came back inconclusive (the numbers were too low to be positive, but too high to be negative).

When my cousin was in elementary school, she saw another doctor. This doctor recommended introducing gluten back into her diet to see if she had grown out of her sensitivity, since she was never officially diagnosed with celiac. When she ate gluten, she got rashes on her arms, and lots of warts. After treatments didn’t seem to help, they decided to try the gluten-free diet again. The rashes and warts went away, and that was good enough for them to continue on the diet.

My cousin is now 13, and this summer decided she wanted to be scoped, since it was hard to not be able to eat what her friends were eating. The scope and blood work all came back negative. So she is now enjoying all the gluten-full foods everyone else is eating.

I was so relieved to hear this news. I had started to wonder if Joseph had celiac disease, like my aunt said my cousin had (even though it hadn’t been officially diagnosed). That would mean a life-long commitment to the gluten-free diet. But now he has a good hope of growing out of this sensitivity! It may take him 10+ years, but I’ll take it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 1:33 pm

    I didn’t get mine until I was 22. No one in my family has manifested the same issues. I have a skin condition called Dermatitis Herpetiformis (sp?). I’ve never been officially diagnosed with celiac. I had the blood work done and it came back neg. I had a scope and it was inconclusive, but I still follow a GF diet. I do notice a difference. I’ve already commented on another post of yours, but I’m always searching for new ideas. It took 7 doctors before any of them got the right diagnosis over the span of 7 years in fact. Instant relief when I got the right diagnosis. Needless to say, I’m grateful for medical help, but not smitten with it. I do a lot of my own searching as well. I’m glad to find another good resource.

    • September 27, 2011 1:54 pm

      I’m glad you enjoy my blog. It is too bad that it often takes several doctors and tests before gluten issues come to light.

Leave a Reply

