Skip to content

Joseph’s First Sacrament

September 14, 2011
tags: ,

For, behold, I say unto you, that it mattereth not what ye shall eat or what ye shall drink when ye partake of the sacrament, if it so be that ye do it with an eye single to my glory—remembering unto the Father my body which was laid down for you, and my blood which was shed for the remission of your sins. (D&C 27: 2)

Now that Joseph is 18 months old, he will be going into our church nursery, where he will be getting a short lesson each week. I know from when I was a teacher in there, that one of the lessons is about the sacrament. So I figured with no sign that Joseph’s allergies are going to go away any time soon, I would make arrangements for him to have his own bread to be blessed.

I talked about it with our bishop in our old ward (to complicate things, we moved last month) and he said it would be no problem. We would provide his own cracker, or whatever in a plastic baggy to put on the sacrament table to be blessed. Then the deacon who would pass to our row (it would be helpful if we sat in the same area each week) would take that bag, put it in his pocket, and then give it to us when he got to our row.

We mentioned this to our new bishop, and he said they had not had to make such accommodations in this ward, but to talk to the deacon’s quorum president, whose responsibility it was to make sure that each member of the ward was able to take the sacrament. So the next week, I brought the prepared bag in, and took it up to the Aaronic Priesthood preparing the sacrament. The deacon’s quorum president hadn’t arrived yet, but one of the teachers setting up had experience with this sort of thing before. So, he took the bag and we returned to our seat.

Things went pretty smoothly with the handoff. I was surprised to find that the cracker was on the tray when it reached our row, but I don’t know when it was placed on there. At least I doubt Joseph would react from the small cross-contamination it could get from that. I’ll still talk with the deacon assigned to our row for more details next time.

I am so grateful that Joseph is able to partake of this sacred ordinance. I’ve heard of other churches where the bread has to be made a certain way, leaving those who can’t tolerate gluten to go without. I am grateful that in revealing to the prophet Joseph Smith that it doesn’t matter what you eat for the sacrament, Christ provided not only for times of want, but also for those who are unable to tolerate the regular bread. I know that He is mindful of my little boy and his challenges, and I am so grateful for the help I’ve received through His Spirit. And each time Joseph takes his special sacrament, I remember that because of Christ’s resurrection, if Joseph never outgrows his allergies, then at least when he is resurrected, he will be able to eat the same foods as everyone else.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 11:34 am

    He may be able to get over the gluten issues with a special cure made by Dr. Wise. He’s done a variety of studies on his patients and many who were extremely sensitive celiacs can now eat bread, and other gluten containing items.

    I recently posted on this potential remedy at http://wp.me/p1244N-6k

    • September 17, 2011 3:42 pm

      Thank you for the interesting link, but I have no interest in trying a medicine with so little to back it up until my son is older. Maybe he’d outgrow it by then on his own. Who knows?

  2. September 27, 2011 1:23 pm

    I’ve struggled with what to do for sacrament because I’ve got gluten issues too, so I was glad to read your post. I recently heard about a book by Caleb Warnock where he talks about pioneer yeast. In it he mentions how the quick rise yeast we use now has eliminated the benefits of the natural yeast.

    He mentions a web site called LDS Health where they also say that using natural yeast can help break down the proteins that some with celiac have a hard time with. While I’m still skeptical, I’m always open for new ideas (I was happy to see Amy’s comment too).

    I may try the yeast starter and see what happens. My gluten issues aren’t life-threatening, so I can cheat occasionally (emphasis on the occasional aspect). If you are interested, I can give you the link–I”m not affiliated with them BTW–I’m just on my own search for answers. I did see that they have a natural yeast starter you can purchase, but I’ve also found other site with recipes to start your own–even GF ones. Anyway, thanks for the post. I’m always looking for help with gluten-issues.

    • September 27, 2011 1:50 pm

      I read your post about the pioneer yeast. Looks intriguing. I’m currently just hoping that he grows out of it, maybe once he’s five or so if he still has problems I’ll ask if he’s interested in looking at some of these helpers.

      • September 27, 2011 3:16 pm

        I’ve heard of people recovering from it. So I hope he will for your sake as well. It’s not much fun on a kid. Good luck and I’ll keep pinging in for some good recipes and info.

  3. September 27, 2011 3:17 pm

    P.S. Do you mind if I link your site in a post? I’ve got friends who check in with GF issues.

    • September 27, 2011 3:34 pm

      Go ahead, your site looks nice. 🙂 And let me know which recipes are your favorites.

Leave a Reply

