Skip to content

Recipe Fail: Coconut Milk Pancakes

September 21, 2011

I recently tried to make gluten-free, coconut milk pancakes by just subbing GF flour and coconut milk 1:1 for regular flour and cow’s milk. The resulting batter was extremely thick, even after adding more milk to try to thin it down. Then when I put the pancakes on the griddle, they didn’t cook as well. They never got golden, and while they were ok to eat, were still slightly gooey. I’m not sure if this was due to the batter, or due to the fact that I was cooking them on the side of my griddle that is noticeably cooler than the other (where I was cooking whole wheat pancakes).

Joseph liked eating them at least. And the vanilla coconut milk gave them a pleasant smell and taste. I’ll try using another recipe – perhaps using GF Bisquick instead of preparing everything from scratch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

