Skip to content

Recipe Trial: Kid’s Favorite Blueberry Muffins

October 7, 2011
tags:

This week, the Willing Cook-A-Long is making Deep South Shrimp and Sausage. My husband doesn’t care for sausage, and I didn’t feel like making shrimp, so I felt that any changes I made would render the recipe unrecognizable. So I decided to bow out and adapt a recipe from 2011 Taste of Home Annual Recipes Cookbook. I chose Kid’s Favorite Blueberry Muffins because last weekend was general conference for our church, where the prophets and apostles have a world wide broadcast. My tradition for conference is to make a hot breakfast on Saturday and Sunday for us to eat while we watch it over the internet.

The Changes

The only change I needed to make was to make the muffins gluten free. So I substituted Gluten Free Bisquick 1:1 with the pancake mix the recipe called for.

The Method

Mix the Bisquick and sugar together.

In a separate bowl, mix the egg, oil, and water together

Mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients. Wonder if the batter is supposed to be the consistency of biscuit dough.

Fold in berries.

At this point, I called my mother to get her opinion on the consistency of the batter. She had previously made this recipe with pancake mix which contained gluten. On her recommendation, I added a tablespoon of water at a time until I got a consistency that looked better, pulverizing the berries in the process.

This is why you should only fold in berries when making muffins.

Spoon batter into paper-lined muffin cups.

Bake until tops are golden and a toothpick comes out clean. Mine took 7 minutes longer than the recipe stated. I don’t know if this is because I added more water, or if my oven is saying it’s preheated before it actually is, or if it’s a gas oven thing.

Enjoy muffins plain or with butter (or non-dairy equivalent). I only realized as I was uploading these pictures how ironic it is that I made a dairy free muffin and took a picture of it with butter on it. Oops.

Kid’s Favorite Blueberry Muffins

Adapted from Taste of Home

Gluten free, dairy free, soy free

  • 2 1/2 cups Gluten Free Bisquick
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup + 3 Tablespoons water
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen berries (unthawed)

Combine Bisquick and sugar in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine egg, water, and oil. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until moistened. Fold in blueberries.

Spoon into paper-lined muffin cups. Bake at 400 degrees F for 14-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean and tops are golden.

What I Thought

These were nice to eat when warm, but when cool, they were quite chewy, and while it didn’t taste dry, it sucked moisture from my mouth. My husband didn’t care for them. We were able to persuade my daughter to eat a couple. Joseph ate three of the twelve muffins I made, though he could never quite get down a whole one in one sitting.

If I were to redo these, I would definitely look at the ratios of mix to egg, oil, and water. Something definitely seems off. After looking at some of my other cookbooks, I believe that there should have been at least 2 eggs. Then you might be able to get away with only 2/3 cup of water, I don’t know. I would prefer to make muffins without a pancake mix, but this recipe would be handy to give to someone who doesn’t regularly bake gluten free foods.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April permalink
    January 12, 2014 10:31 pm

    Honey, if u want a good muffin (but not exactly healthy). Just get the Betty Crocker gluten free white cake mix and mix in one can of blueberry pie filling. Bake as normal. Yum. U can also use a can of pumpkin and a little pumpkin pie spice for pumpkin muffins. Or peach pie filling and so on. The possibilities r endless. My little gluten free monster is now 18 years old. We were doing this before it was “cool”.

Leave a Reply

