We went out to eat at a Japanese place recently. They had a build a bowl option where you choose your meat, rice and sauce. I asked if any of the sauces did not contain soy. The server handed me a page that listed foods with gluten, milk, peanuts, and sesame, but not soy. So after some searching we found the ingredients list and found they all had soy. So I asked for a bowl with no sauce for Joseph. When they gave us his food, they gave us a cup of gluten-free teriyaki (main ingredient: soy sauce). *sigh* At least their standard method was to provide all sauce in cups so that you can pour as much as you want onto your food, so Joseph was able to eat his plain chicken (he ignored the rice). It just shows how the soy allergy really flies under the radar compared to peanuts and gluten.
While staying at my in-laws, they had the Kroger brand of Rice Chex in their pantry. I had avoided buying the generic brand, as it contained barley malt flavoring, which contains gluten and makes Joseph cranky. I decided to read the ingredients to see if things have changed, and they have! They now use molasses instead of barley malt flavoring! Surprised, I turned to the front of the box, to see if they were advertising the fact that they were gluten-free. In the bottom-left, there was the gluten-free symbol, and below that, the words “All rice is gluten-free.” Kroger, I love you for the FredMeyer stores which provide the best selection of Joseph-safe foods near me, but you can’t get away with pretending that your Rice Bitz was always gluten-free.