Skip to content

Fish Trial: Success!

January 18, 2012

Of the eight most common allergens, Joseph reacts to three (milk, wheat, & soy). I suspect he reacts to two more (peanuts and tree nuts). I question another (eggs – fine in baked goods, but seem to give hives when eaten scrambled). The other two (fish and shellfish) I was cautious to introduce, due to the number of other allergies he has.

Then I recently discovered Ian’s Fish Sticks in my local FredMeyer store. They are free of ALL the top 8 allergens except for fish. So, I decided I would use them to test how Joseph handles fish. This week, I gave him two fish sticks a day for four days, and he’s had no reactions!

I am so glad to have another thing to put on Joseph’s safe list! I don’t cook fish very often, but I’m glad I don’t have to avoid it in our home. Joseph liked the fish sticks too – every time he finished his two fish sticks, he asked for more (which I didn’t give him, since I was worried about any possible reactions). I’m excited to introduce him to salmon the next time we have it. That’s definitely my favorite fish, and I have lots of recipes for tasty marinades and toppings with it.

Also, this means I can use fish sauce to substitute for soy sauce. And I can use (the expensive brands of) Worcestershire sauce. Hooray for flavor!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 5:47 am

    That must be a huge relief to know your son doesn’t react to fish as well. Fish sauce is such an amazing flavour booster too! All the best.

  2. Gamila permalink
    January 24, 2012 5:29 pm

    huzzah!

Trackbacks

  1. Cookbook Review: 2012 Taste of Home Annual Recipes « The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

