Skip to content

Cookbook Review: 2012 Taste of Home Annual Recipes

February 1, 2012

A few months ago when I went through the 2011 Taste of Home Annual Recipes looking for Joseph-safe recipes, I was very emotional. There were whole chapters of good looking foods that I didn’t think that I could make anything from for Joseph.

This month, when I went through the 2012 Taste of Home Annual Recipes cookbook to look for Joseph-safe recipes, I wasn’t nearly as emotional. That’s probably because I didn’t have to toss as many recipes. I’ve found a Joseph-safe mayonnaise. Also, we know that fish is safe, so I can use fish sauce to substitute for soy sauce and worcestershire sauce. Most importantly, though, due to the experiments I’ve been making each week with adapting recipes to be Joseph-safe, I have more confidence that I can make other recipes like cakes and quick breads gluten-free, dairy-free, and soy-free. In total, I have 83 recipes that don’t need adaption and 68 more that I feel I can adapt. (This is out of 509 total recipes).

I’ve not had much of a chance to try out many of the recipes yet. My favorite that I have tried was Best-Ever Chicken Fajita Chowder which was pretty easy to make Joseph-safe by just allowing everyone at the table to add their own sour cream and cheese separately. Joseph just ate the meat, which is a good thing as it turned out that the green enchilada sauce I used contained soy. *sigh*

Still, I’m looking forward to trying out these recipes this year, and you’ll see several reports on my blog from it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 1, 2012 6:54 am

    I read a report that most people only make 2 or 3 recipes out of each cookbook that they own, so yiu are doing really well even if it is fewer than you might like. You’ve got well over 2 new recipes per week this year if you choose to make them all. That’s a lot!

    • February 1, 2012 8:21 am

      I probably won’t choose to make that many, but I am excited for the number of recipes that I can choose from.

Leave a Reply

