Skip to content

Fighting Against Taste-Free

February 22, 2012

When I posted my red velvet cake on Pinterest with the description “gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free,” someone commented “taste-free.” Though I let the comment stay, I was offended by it. I spend a lot of time and effort searching for recipes and techniques so that foods Joseph can eat are not “taste-free” or the consistency of bricks.

Admittedly, some of Joseph’s foods are not particularly palatable. Rice cakes are not particularly interesting (Joseph tends to only eat them in desperation). None of us dairy-eaters can bring ourselves to even try Joseph’s Daiya cheese. Gluten-free breads have some funny consistencies.

This is why I work so hard to compensate for these shortcomings. I have a cupboard full of herbs, spices and sauces so that his meals are not bland. And he definitely appreciates the flavor. He’ll gladly chow down foods that other toddlers will turn up their nose at because it’s “too spicy.” When I made sugar cookies, I read several recipes, and tried out a few batches before I finally learned how to make a Joseph-safe one that wasn’t the consistency of powder. There are several things I’ve made Joseph-safe that we all like to eat.

So calling something taste-free just from reading a description really annoyed me. It’s not like you’re making fun of someone who chooses to eat fat-free to be healthy. If Joseph cheats on this diet, he suffers consequences! He already suffers from wanting to eat Wheat-thins and goldfish crackers that his sister eats. There’s no need to rub it in that his food is sub-par, especially when those who try it believe that it’s not.

Of course, I know with this blog, I’m preaching to the choir, since many of my readers also deal with allergies in their families. So how has this topic come up in your life? How did you respond?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 6:43 am

    Wow, Annaliese! I doubt the person who wrote that directed it at you or even knew you would see it. They have just made an assumption about allergy-free cooking. Even still, it would have hurt my feelings as well.

    I love that we bloggers can see what people are writing about us. I often look with fear. I know that one day soon, someone is going to write something that crushes me. Hang in there, sista!

  2. February 24, 2012 1:41 am

    I live gluten free, and lactose free, and the reaction I normally get to my eating habits is pity – ‘aww you can’t have this or that or…’. And at first, it irritated me. But my intolerances have taught me to look after myself, and also how to cook! Like you say, if your kitchen in full of the ingredients is takes to make things taste good, then no ‘free from’ meal needs to be bland. I’m sure Joseph willl grow up to be a great cook because of it 🙂 Then he’ll be having the last laugh!

    • February 24, 2012 8:35 am

      Yes, I’m sure Joseph will grow up to be a great cook. Even now he tries to climb a chair up to the oven to help me stir the pots. 🙂 Another question I get often when I mention Joseph’s allergies is “What CAN he eat?” And now I don’t get bugged by it, because the list is actually long and healthy – fruits, vegetables, meat, rice, and corn.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

