Skip to content

Joseph’s Birthday Party

March 14, 2012

Joseph turned 2 this week so we had a party with his grandparents, aunt, uncle, and cousins. I went back and forth deciding what kind of food to serve at the party. Part of me wanted to have all the food be safe for him. But considering how his favorite food is pizza, it was easiest, and more enjoyable for everybody, for me to make him his own pizza and then get Papa Murphy’s for everybody else. I did have grapes on the side, which he  enjoyed chowing down on with everybody.

I did decide to only make one cake, which was safe for Joseph. I followed the recipe for the chocolate birthday cake in Cooking for Isaiah (except that I omitted the espresso powder, since we don’t drink, or cook with coffee). And I frosted it with a chocolate ganache frosting from Living Without (using a full can of coconut milk and an entire bag of Enjoy Life chocolate chips). My family found it nice and moist – comparable to wheat & milk based cakes.

He certainly enjoyed himself. I hope future parties turn out as well. At least then he’ll be able to actually make requests instead of me guessing at what he wants.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 4:58 am

    That cake looks incredible! Congrats on the 2-year mark. I hope some of his allergies will start to go away.

    • March 14, 2012 7:26 am

      Thanks J! His sensitivity does seem to be fading a bit, but he’ll still react to things. We’ll see what the next year brings.

  2. March 14, 2012 12:27 pm

    The cake looks beautiful! It looks twice his size! Happy Birthday Joseph!

Leave a Reply

