Skip to content

Allergy-Friendly Things to Put in Easter Eggs

March 28, 2012

I’ve been thinking about what to put in Easter eggs when we do an Easter egg hunt in our house this year. I considered filling some with chocolate for my daughter, but decided I didn’t want to risk Joseph finding one of those eggs and needing to take it away from him. So, while I still bought chocolate for the rest of the family to enjoy, it’s going to be separate from the eggs.

So what will I put in the eggs? So far, this is what I have:

  • gummy bears
  • jelly beans
  • coins (Though it seems odd for Joseph to receive money when we didn’t give any to his sister until she was four. I’ll probably just get over this.)
  • balloons
  • stickers

There are a few more things I’d like to get. I was frustrated by my first look through the store, since the cars wouldn’t fit in the eggs, and the things that would fit, my toddlers wouldn’t be interested in (not to mention be choking hazards). But I can probably find the following at a dollar store or a bigger store.

  • bouncy balls (I just want to get a few, since we already have some. Hmm… maybe I could sneak those from their toy box and re-gift them?)
  • mini containers of bubbles (these would be a HUGE hit)
  • hair bows (though I don’t know if I want to keep things gender neutral or not. I suppose I could steer Joseph away from the pink/purple eggs or just have them trade)
  • cars
  • toy animals

What are you doing to make Easter safe and enjoyable for your family?

Shared on Allergy-Free Wednesdays

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2012 5:48 pm

    My 10-month-old has a milk allergy, so chocolate is out of the question (I checked all of the dark chocolate bunnies in the aisle, but they still had milk in them).

    I LOVE your idea of stickers!

    I purchased some Weebles to put in over-sized eggs and his favorite organic cereal for the smaller eggs. I also bought a couple of board books to put in his basket (Runaway Bunny and Brown Bear, Brown Bear). I’m actually now going to go out and get some bunny stickers. He will love them.

    I’m really looking forward to his first Easter.

    • March 28, 2012 6:11 pm

      I’ve never done a separate Easter basket, since the kids get enough gifts at other times. I considered putting cereal in the Easter eggs, but decided not to. I’m having a hard enough time getting Joseph to eat his cereal for breakfast, so I don’t think he’d be too excited for it in Easter eggs.

      I’m glad you’re looking forward to Easter. I hope you have a good one!

Trackbacks

  1. Easter Posts | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

