Skip to content

Chocolate Bunnies: Recipe Fail

March 30, 2012

Finding chocolate that is free of both dairy and soy is a real pain. The best I’ve found is Enjoy Life’s semi-sweet chocolate chips. They’re decent in cookies, but I have always been partial to milk chocolate. And I wanted Joseph to at least have a close equivalent that he could eat. So when I was recently at Target, I bought a candy mold of bunnies and set about trying to enhance the chocolate chips so he could have yummy chocolate candies.

I started out by melting the chocolate chips and cream of coconut in the microwave. It immediately started to seize up.

So I added some coconut milk.

 It still didn’t taste sweet enough, so I tried adding sugar (since I wasn’t heating it very much, the grains didn’t dissolve) and more cream of coconut. Finally, I spooned the chocolate into the molds.

I put them in the fridge overnight, but in the morning, the chocolates weren’t hard, so I stuck them in the freezer for a few hours. They still came out soft – like rich truffles. Though I suspect that if left at room temperature, it would turn into a syrup.

I’m not sure what I’ll do with these bunnies. Maybe I’ll let Joseph spoon some out. I’ll probably throw most of it away. I don’t know if I’ll try again before Easter. Either way, I should research a bit more into chocolate making before trying to add creaminess to Joseph’s chocolates.

Have any of you had experience with allergy-free chocolates? What recipes have you made recently that went badly?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Billings permalink
    April 6, 2012 8:33 am

    I make all of my daughter’s easter chocolates. Since she has never had milk chocolate, she really likes the flavor of the enjoy life chocolate. I just melt it either in a doubler boiler or 50% temp. for 20-30 second intervals. Then pour the chocolate in the molds. I have found out that it works best to let it sit at room temerature too cool first. Then put in the fridge to finish setting up. We like to make different flavors (peppermint extract, orange, raspberry etc..)or chocolate or add things like coconut(finelly chopped. We will even fill some with homemade peanut butter filling. If you use sunbutter it would work the same. You can leave out the graham crakers if there is not a gluten free one you can use.
    http://allrecipes.com/recipe/homemade-peanut-butter-cups/detail.aspx

    • April 6, 2012 8:44 am

      Thanks for the tips. I probably would have been fine to do it without trying to make it creamier. I’ll have to do that next time. I like the idea of adding extracts too.

      • Billings permalink
        April 6, 2012 8:50 am

        I just thought of one more thing. If the chocolate does sieze, add coconut oil, or vegtable oil, in small amount(1/4 tsp) untill smooth. Don’t over heat the chocolate. Only heat it until it is mostly melted then stir quickly to finish melting.

      • April 6, 2012 9:16 am

        Thanks again Billings. Those are good tips.

Leave a Reply

