Skip to content

Cookbook Review: The Whole Foods Allergy Cookbook

May 2, 2012

I was excited to take a look at Cybele Pascal’s first cookbook (The Whole Foods Allergy Cookbook) when I first saw it, as I wanted a cookbook for ideas for Joseph-safe dinners. I’ve been following her blog for awhile now, and have enjoyed the recipes she’s made. The red velvet cake I made came from her.

As I perused it, I quickly became disappointed. While there is no wheat used in this book, barley and rye (which contain gluten) are both used in abundance. So that means almost all the baked goods in this book will still need to be adapted for Joseph to eat them. Also, I was surprised to see that this book is free of granulated sugar. As you are aware, I have no problems with using sugar in my cooking. I just try to keep those treats to in moderation. I already buy enough specialty ingredients. I don’t want to add agave nectar and maple sugar to the list.

There are no pictures in this cookbook, so it’s hard for me to browse through and find recipes that appeal to me. That’s probably why I haven’t made anything from it yet. Some perks – there’s quite a variety of salad dressings that look interesting enough to try. I am definitely going to have to try the recipe for swedish meatballs, sometime though. It’s one of my husband’s favorite meals, and a tricky one to make dairy-free.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

