Skip to content

Virgin Peachy Keen Daiquiris Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

August 17, 2012

First off, congratulations to J, debra, and Christy who won copies of Piper Reed books. Please contact me with your mailing address so we can send your prizes to you.

Summer has finally hit Seattle, and I have had no desire to cook this week in my non-air-conditioned home. So, I turned to my cookbook in desperation for something cool, and decided to give Peachy Keen Daiquiris from Taste of Home a try.

The Changes

These drinks were already Joseph-safe. I just left out the optional rum, since none of us drink alcohol.

ice, orange juice, powdered sugar, limeade concentrate, peaches

The Method

Just like a smoothie, all you do is put all the ingredients in a blender,

blend and serve.

Virgin Peachy Keen Daiquiris

Adapted from Taste of Home

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups ice
  • 3 medium peaches, peeled and sliced
  • 3/4 cup thawed limeade concentrate
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 Tablespoons powdered sugar

Place ice, peaches, limeade, orange juice, and sugar in a blender. Puree for 30 seconds, or until smooth.

Makes 3 servings

What I Thought

My husband and I both thought that these daiquiris were too tart. We added more sugar to make it more palatable. I’m not sure if its because of the lack of rum, or the limeade I got was more concentrated than I expected (it calls for 3 parts concentrate to 13 parts water). Both kids were excited for smoothies, my daughter even saying “Mommy, I love smoothie!” but she only drank half of hers. Joseph took a taste, then started spooning his daiquiri onto the placemat. Ah well. Better luck next time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. colleenmoore0301 permalink
    August 17, 2012 7:34 am

    I don’t imagine the OJ helped with tartness either. Any ideas for another juice? 🙂

    • August 17, 2012 7:58 am

      Apple perhaps. Or pineapple. Those should go nicely with peaches.

Leave a comment