Skip to content

Pumpkin Black Bean Chili Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

November 2, 2012

When it comes to chili, I prefer white chili. I’ve just never been a huge fan of acidic tomatoes. Unfortunately, white chilis tend to have lots of milk in them, or they look more like soup. However, I have learned that pumpkin and squash can neutralize the acidic tomatoes, so this year I decided to try a pumpkin chili from Taste of Home.

The Changes

I used ground turkey, since I haven’t made a turkey recently. I also left out the yellow pepper. The rest of this recipe was already Joseph-safe.
chicken broth, onion, urkey, salt, chili powder, garli cpowder, pumpkin, tomatoes, black beans, parsley, oregano, cumin

The Method

In a large skillet, brown turkey and saute onion. Add to a slow cooker, along with all other ingredients.

Cook on low for 4-5 hours, or until heated through.

Pumpkin Black Bean Chili

Adapted from Taste of Home

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 19 oz ground turkey
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 2 15 oz cans of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 15 oz can solid-pack pumpkin
  • 1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 teaspoons parsley flakes
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

In a large skillet, saute onion and brown the turkey. Add to a slow cooker, along with all other ingredients. Stir to combine. Cook on low for 4-5 hours or until heated through.

Makes 10 servings

What I Thought

I took this chili to my ward’s chili cook-off, stupidly without tasting it before hand. I knew as soon as I had my first bite that it would not be winning any awards, because I had completely forgotten to put the salt in. Still, I think it would have needed more than the 1/2 teaspoon of salt, because I kept adding more to my bowl. And even though it smelled nice, it tasted bland even with the salt. It really felt like the rest of the recipe was doubled, except the spices. So while this was ok, it definitely needs tweaking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

