Skip to content

Brown Rice Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

November 9, 2012

Whenever we go out to eat at an Asian restaurant, my father-in-law always gets brown rice. Teasingly, the rest of us call it “dirty rice”. At home, I stuck with familiar white rice, though I was intrigued by the more nutrition that brown rice offered. Then one day, my husband asked about the difference between the two. When I mentioned that brown rice had more nutrition, he asked “then why don’t we eat any?” Surprised at his willingness to try it, I bought some to try out, according to the method on Our Best Bites

The Changes

This recipe is already Joseph-safe, so no changes were made.

The Method

Place the rice in an 8″ x 8″ pan. Bring water and oil just to a boil. Add salt, then pour over the rice. Cover tightly with aluminum foil.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 1 hour. Fluff with a fork, then cover with a towel for 5 minutes. Serve immediately.

Brown Rice

Adapted from Our Best Bites

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice
  • 2 1/3 cups water
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Place rice in an 8″ x 8″ pan. Bring water and oil just to a boil. Stir in salt. Pour over rice. Cover tightly with foil.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 1 hour, or until rice is tender. Fluff with a fork, then cover the pan with a towel for 5 minutes. Serve immediately.

Makes 6 servings

What I Thought

I was pleasantly surprised by how this rice turned out. It was a bit chewy, and had a nutty flavor to it that I quite liked. Joseph ate as much of it as he could shovel into his mouth. My daughter completely ignored it though. She likes what she knows. My husband said he’d be up for more, though only with certain dishes. So this was definitely a success.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2012 6:25 am

    We use only brown rice, but I’ve never tried cooking it in the oven. Will have to give it a try.

    • November 9, 2012 10:56 am

      Hope it works out for you. I did it this way since Our Best Bites said it gave the most consistent, good results.

Leave a Reply

